Filed in: Camera, Featured, News

ASC Launches Online Master Class Series Starting October 30

October 9, 2020 | By
ASC

Lawrence Sher, ASC

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has announced its Online Master Class, a three-day online seminar featuring Q&As with some of the top working cinematographers. The first online class will be held between Friday, October 30 and Sunday, November 1 and be limited to 30 participants.

Confirmed instructors — all participating based on availability — are ASC members Larry Fong (300WatchmenSuper 8Kong: Skull Island), David Mullen (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel) and Lawrence Sher (The Hangover Trilogy, Joker)

The price of participation in this three-day event is $750 USD, paid by Monday, October 26, and you can sign up for the seminar here.

ASC

Larry Fong and David Mullen, ASC

From the program description:

The planned curriculum — including pre-recorded lighting demonstrations, selected film clips, live instruction and interactive discussion periods — is designed to last about 3.5 hours per day, with each session starting at 8:00 AM Pacific Standard Time (11:00 AM New York; 4:00 PM London; 5:00 PM Berlin; 8:30 PM Mumbai; 11:00 Beijing).  

The program will include:

Welcome address by ASC member describing this new online Master Class format.
Presentations by ASC instructors followed by Q&A sessions, allowing students to address specific areas of interest or gain further detail.
Lighting demonstration – set up, shooting, editing and color grading – live-narrated by the on-set DP
Deep-dive discussions on influential films of artistic significance, curated by ASC instructors. (To be viewed by students prior to session.)
Participation with ASC Ambassadors — members in addition to primary event instructors — in break-out rooms for discussions and daily social sessions.
Panel discussions with ASC members on select topics.
Presentations by leading equipment manufacturers
Registration is now open for students worldwide. All instruction will be in English and conducted via Zoom.

(The complete and final schedule will be Emailed to participants on Wednesday, October 28.)

You can learn more about the ASC at its Official Website. ASC also announced that in-person ASC Master Classes will resume when health conditions permit and attendees of the online Master Class will receive a 10% discount on a future in-person Master Class.

null
Width: 297px, Height: 300px