Thursday, June 13, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsNominations Announced for the 2nd Annual Location Managers Guild of America (LMGA)...

Nominations Announced for the 2nd Annual Location Managers Guild of America (LMGA) Awards


LMGA LogoThe Location Managers Guild of America (LMGA) announced the nominations for its 2nd Annual LMGA Awards, which recognize the outstanding achievements of location professionals in seven categories. Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on March 7, at the Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts in Beverly Hills.

Honorary awards to be presented at the ceremony will be the Eva Monley Award, the Humanitarian Award, the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Trailblazer Award.

The nominees are:

Outstanding Locations in a Contemporary Film

Chef (Kei Rowan-Young)
Gone Girl (Rick Schuler and Steve Mapel)
Nightcrawler (Curtis Collins and Mike Brewer)
The Gambler (Chris Baugh)
Wild (Nancy Haecker)

Outstanding Locations in a Period Film

Fury (Russell Lodge and Lee Robertson)
Inherent Vice (Larry Ring and Scott Fitzgerald)
Selma (Wes Hagen and Leif Tilden)
The Grand Budapest Hotel (Klaus Darrelmann)
The Imitation Game (David Broder and Richard George)

Outstanding Locations in a Contemporary Television Series

Homeland (Robert Bentley and Deon du Preez)
Nashville (Kristi Frankenheimer and Mark Ragland)
NCIS: Los Angeles (Tony Salome and Jason Savage)
Ray Donovan (Craig van Gundy and Boyd Wilson)
True Detective (Batou Chandler)

Outstanding Locations in a Period Television Series

American Horror Story (John Johnston)
Boardwalk Empire (Amanda Foley and Audra Gorman)
Forever (Guy Efrat)
Turn (Tom Trigo and Becky Beckstoffer)

Outstanding Locations in a Single Commercial

Budweiser “Always There” (JJ Levine and Byll Williams)
Coca-Cola “America is Beautiful” (Jimmy Ayoub, Cyndy McCrossen, Peter Orth, Stephen Pherigo)
Nissan Qashqai “Fly by Night” (Gil Evans, Marie-Paule Goislard, Beth Tate)
Nissan Altima “Migration” (Crofton Diack and Mike Floyd)
Honda Civic “Today is Pretty Great” (Jof Hanwright and Jesse Rivard)

Outstanding Locations in a Commercial Campaign

Ram Trucks (David McKinney and Peter Orth)
Subaru Outback (Alissa Desler and Lori Allen)

Outstanding Film Commission

Chicago Film Office
City of Long Beach Office of Special Events and Filming
Film in Iceland
Oregon Governor’s Office of Film & Television
Royal Film Commission of Jordan

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D