Thursday, May 30, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsArt Directors Guild Honoring Scenic Artist Patrick DeGreve with Lifetime Achievement Award

Art Directors Guild Honoring Scenic Artist Patrick DeGreve with Lifetime Achievement Award


Patrick DeGreve
Patrick DeGreve (Photo: Craig Matthews)

The Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) has announced that veteran Scenic Artist Patrick DeGreve, best known for his prolific backings, sets and props for shows created at CBS TV City over the past 45 yearswill receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Scenic, Title & Graphic Artists (STG), at the 25th Annual ADG Awards on Saturday, April 10, 2021. This is the third of four award honorees announced.

The event will spotlight DeGreve’s artistic contribution to many of the iconic and memorable television shows of the last four decades, as well as his leadership in the industry. This is the third of four Lifetime Achievement Awards to be announced by the Art Directors Guild. The event is free to everyone but registration is required at

“Pat’s artistry, influence, and guidance made the STG what it is today. While I never had the privilege of working with Pat at Television City, so many of our members did and Pat shaped their lives for the better. His unwavering commitment to his craft serves as a model for all of us, to set high standards for our work and take pride in what we produce. We are indebted to Pat and proud to present him with our 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award,” said Clint Schultz, STG Council Chairperson.

Patrick DeGreve worked as a scenic artist at CBS TV City until he retired after 45 years, loving every minute of his work there, painting backings, sets, and props for hundreds of top shows including The Price is Right, Wheel of Fortune and It’s Worth What?,” for which he received an ADG Award nomination. Additional iconic shows for which DeGreve designed sets include The Carol Burnett Show, Jeopardy, The Sonny & Cher Comedy Hour, Dancing with the Stars, Archie Bunker’s Place, Three’s Company, Survivor, and Hollywood Game Night, among many others. Pat also designed sets on a number of TV specials including The Jerry Lewis MDA Labor Day Telethon, Hairspray Live!, Disney On Ice: Beauty and the Beast, Return of the Smothers Brothers, The George Burns Special, and CBS … 50 Years from Television City.

A master craftsman, Pat also builds furniture, kayaks and guitars. His unique guitars are donated to charities such as the Salvation Army Angel Tree Program, as well as the LA County “Feed for Christmas” every year.

But Pat’s “retirement” did not mean he had left the industry. Since 1980, he has been involved in union work and continues that important leadership effort today. Initially he was elected to represent the Scenic Artist Local 816 in contract talks and participated in the formation of the Flex Plan. That led to a seat on the Board of Directors and eventually he became President. After Local 816 merged with the Art Directors Guild, DeGreve was elected Vice President of Local 800 and Chair of the Scenic, Title and Graphic Artist Council.

As previously announced, Ryan Murphy, one of television’s most successful award winning writers-directors-producers whose shows have consistently reflected the highest quality of production design, will receive the esteemed Cinematic Imagery Award. Academy Award and Emmy-winning Production Designer Stuart Wurtzel, best known for his work on Hannah and Her Sisters and Angels in America, will receive the ADG Lifetime Achievement Award from the Production Designers and Art Directors Council (AD). Martha Johnston, dynamic artist best known for her over 60 movie and television design credits, is set to receive the ADG Set Designers & Model Makers (SDMM) Lifetime Achievement Award. The Illustrators & Matte Artists (IMA) awardee will be announced shortly.

A complete list of past honorees can be found on ADG’s website.  #iwillbethere  #adgawards

Producer of this year’s ADG Awards (#ADGawards) is Production Designer Scott Moses, ADG.  Final online voting will be held through April 7, 2021, and winners will be announced at the virtual gala ceremony on Saturday, April 10, 2021. ADG Awards are open only to productions when made within the U.S. by producers signatory to the IATSE agreement. Foreign entries are acceptable without restrictions. Further inquiries regarding the ADG Awards may be directed to ADG Awards & Events Director Debbie Patton at (818)762-9995 or email [email protected].

For Ticket Reservations, go to

Sponsors include: Premier Level: Astek Wallcovering, McLaren, SHOWPRO; Platinum Level: Cush Light, HBO / HBOMax, NBC-Universal Operations Group, Netflix; Gold Level: Apple Worldwide, Centerline Scenery, Drop Shop Digital, Focus Features; Silver Level: The Gersh Agency; Premier Trade: Shutterstock; Media sponsors: Variety, Below the Line, SHOOT Magazine

- Advertisment -


Joe B

Sound Editors Joe Beshenkovsky, Bobby Mackston, and Matt Temple on How...

George Carlin is one of the greatest stand-up comedians in American history, and thanks to co-directors Judd Apatow and Michael Bonfiglio, audiences get a revelatory...