Filed in: Art Direction, Awards, Commercials, Events, Featured, Film, Television

Top Honors to Bohemian Rhapsody, The Favourite and Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse

February 5, 2019 10:46 | By

ACE.Award201969th Annual ACE Eddie Awards celebrated the best editing of the year in film, TV and documentaries at the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel with over 1000 in attendance. Outstanding editing was recognized in 11 categories of film, television and documentaries.Comedian Tom Kenny, the voice of SpongeBob SquarePants, served as the evening’s master of ceremonies.

Presiding over the evening’s festivities, President of American Cinema Editors, Stephen Rivkin, ACE, quipped, “Who knew I would be following SpongeBob?”

Bohemian Rhapsody edited by John Ottman, ACE, and The Favourite edited by Yorgos Mavropsaridis, ACE, won Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic) and Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy) respectively. Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse edited by Robert Fisher, Jr. won Best Edited Animated Feature Film.

In accepting his honor, Ottman joked that as an editor he is happy when “no one’s been miscast and you don’t have to polish that turd for a year.”

Free Solo edited by Bob Eisenhardt, ACE, won Best Edited Documentary (Feature). Robin Williams: Come Inside My Mind edited by Greg Finton, ACE & Poppy Das, ACE, won Best Edited Documentary (Non-Theatrical).

In a video tribute, Academy Award® winning filmmaker Guillermo del Toro was lauded by director James Cameron as “a director for the ages.”  Receiving the organization’s highest accolade, del Toro was presented the ACE Golden Eddie by friend and collaborator Octavia Spencer, who starred in del Toro’s Oscar® best picture-winning film “The Shape of Water.”

Octavia Spencer and Guillermo del Toro at the ACE Eddie Awards.

Octavia Spencer and Guillermo del Toro at the ACE Eddie Awards.

Del Toro talked about how a film is created three times: when the script written, when it is shot during production and when it is edited in post. He commented that he is “careful not to tell the editor how to cut it” and admitted that as a director he feels most vulnerable with his cinematographer and editor.

 Jerrold Ludwig, ACE and Craig McKay, ACE received Career Achievement awards.  Their work was highlighted with clip reels exhibiting their tremendous contributions to film and television throughout their careers. In accepting his award from presenter, film editor Carol Littleton, ACE (E.T.), McKay shared the advice he had received from his mentor, renowned editor Dede Allen with whom he edited Warren Beatty’s Reds. “Cut with your gut was Dede’s motto,” said McKay. “It took me years to learn that.”  

Craig McKay and Carol Littleton at the ACE Eddie Awards.

Craig McKay and Carol Littleton at the ACE Eddie Awards.

 Television winners included Escape at Dannemora – “Episode Seven” edited by Malcolm Jamieson & Geoffrey Richman, ACE, for Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television. Best Edited Non-Scripted Series went to Anthony Bourdain – Parts Unknown: West Virginia edited by Hunter Gross, ACE.

Killing Eve ­– “Nice Face” edited by Gary Dollner, ACE received Best Edited Drama Series for Commercial Television. Bodyguard – “Episode 1” edited by Steve Singleton took Best Edited Drama Series for Non-Commercial Television.

 Atlanta – “Teddy Perkins” edited by Kyle Reiter for Best Edited Comedy Series for Commercial Television, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – “Simone” edited by Kate Sanford, ACE, for Best Edited Comedy Series for Non-Commercial Television.

 Emma Hickox, ACE presented the Anne V. Coates Student Editing Award, re-named this year in honor of her mother, legendary editor Coates, who passed away in 2018. The award went to Marco Gonzalez of Boston University who beat out hundreds of competitors from film schools and universities around the country.

Presenters at the ACE Eddie Awards included Oscar® nominated director Spike Lee (BlacKkKlansman), Oscar® nominated director and ACE Eddie Award nominee for (Roma) Alfonso Cuarón, director Jon M. Chu (Crazy Rich Asians), director Peter Farrelly (Green Book), D’Arcy Carden (The Good Place), Jennifer Lewis (Black-ish), Angela Sarafyan (Westworld), Harry Shum, Jr. (Crazy Rich Asians), Paul Walter Hauser (BlacKkKlansman).

Peter Farrelly and John Ottman at the ACE Eddie Awards.

Peter Farrelly and John Ottman at the ACE Eddie Awards.

Spike Lee and Bob Eisenhardt at the ACE Eddie Awards.