Thursday, April 18, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsAcademy Announces Key Dates for the Oscars

Academy Announces Key Dates for the Oscars

-

In an effort to provide Academy members and the public a longer period of time to see this year’s crop of Oscar-nominated films, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced that it will reveal the Academy Award nominations on Jan. 10, five days earlier than previously announced.

In addition, this will be the first year that Academy members will be able to vote electronically. Together with PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) and Everyone Counts, the Academy has been developing an electronic voting process for more than a year, conducting extensive focus groups with members to ensure a smooth transition and widespread adoption.

Members will still have the option of voting via paper ballots, or using assisted voting stations in Los Angeles, New York and London. The Academy will also offer a 24-hour telephone help line during voting periods.

In the pre-nominations phase, members will continue to vote via paper ballot in eight categories, (due to specialized screening schedules and processes). Those categories are animated feature film, animated short film, live action short film, documentary feature, documentary short subject, foreign language film, makeup and hairstyling and visual effects.

The key dates for the 85th Academy Awards season are:

Friday, Nov. 30: Official Screen Credits due
Saturday, Dec. 1: Governors Awards presentation
Monday, Dec. 17: Nominations voting begins
Thursday, Jan. 3: Nominations voting ends 5 p.m. PT
Thursday, Jan. 10: Nominations announced 5:30 a.m. PT
Monday, Feb. 4: Nominees Luncheon
Friday, Feb. 8: Final voting begins
Saturday, Feb. 9: Scientific and Technical Awards presentation
Tuesday, Feb. 19: Final voting ends 5 p.m. PT
Sunday, Feb. 24: 85th Academy Awards presentation

- Advertisment -

Popular

Beowulf and 3-D

0
By Henry Turner Beowulf in 3D is a unique experience, raising not just questions about future of cinema, but also posing unique problems that the...