Wednesday, June 19, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsHPA Announces Award Nominees and Special Award Winners

HPA Announces Award Nominees and Special Award Winners


HPA_Logo_2008The Hollywood Post Alliance announced the nominees for the craft categories of the 8th Annual HPA Awards yesterday, along with the winners of several special awards. The HPA Awards recognize the achievements of individuals and companies engaged in revolutionary postproduction work.

The HPA Awards will take place Nov. 7 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.

This year saw a record number of entries in all categories. The nominees in the 12 craft categories were chosen from a field of talented and innovative entries in color grading, editing, sound and visual effects for motion pictures, commercials and television.

Nominees for the 2013 HPA Awards are:

Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film

Star Trek Into Darkness
Stefan Sonnenfeld, Company 3

Mike Sowa, Technicolor

Anna Karenina
Adam Glasman, Company 3

Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film

Life of Pi
David Cole, Technicolor

Pacific Rim
Maxine Gervais, Warner Bros. Motion Picture Imaging

Iron Man 3
Steven J. Scott, Technicolor

Man of Steel
Stefan Sonnenfeld, Company 3

Outstanding Color Grading – Television

Castle, “Hunt”
Anthony Smith, Encore Hollywood

Behind the Candelabra
John Daro, FotoKem

Hell on Wheels, “Slaughterhouse”
Steven Porter, MTI FILM

Game of Thrones, “Kissed By Fire”
Joe Finley, Modern VideoFilm

CSI: Crime Scene Investigation, “Ghosts of the Past”
Paul Westerbeck, Encore Hollywood

Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial

Call of Duty, “Masks”
Dave Hussey, Company 3

Louis Vuitton, “L’Invitation Au Voyage”
Tim Masick, Company 3

Procter & Gamble: Thank You, Mom, “Best Job”
Adam Scott, The Mill

Under Armour, “Brought To You By Under Armour”
Tom Poole, Company 3

Mercedes-Benz, “Soul”
Stefan Sonnenfeld, Company 3

Outstanding Editing – Feature Film

Zero Dark Thirty
William Goldenberg, A.C.E. and Dylan Tichenor, A.C.E.

Jeremiah O’Driscoll

Les Miserables
Melanie Ann Oliver and Chris Dickens, A.C.E.

Star Trek Into Darkness
Maryann Brandon, A.C.E. and MaryJo Markey, A.C.E.

William Goldenberg, A.C.E.

Outstanding Editing – Television

Breaking Bad, “Gliding Over All”
Kelley Dixon, A.C.E.

Dexter, “Are You…?”
Louis Cioffi, A.C.E.

Downton Abbey, “Series 3, Episode 5″
John Wilson, A.C.E., Carnival Film & Television

Breaking Bad, “Dead Freight”
Skip MacDonald, A.C.E.

American Horror Story: Asylum, “Welcome To Briarcliff”
Joe Leonard and Bradley Buecker, A.C.E.

Outstanding Editing – Commercial

Verizon Wireless, “Big Vision”
Chris Franklin, Big Sky Editorial

Nextel/Ferrari, “Combustion”
Doobie White, Therapy Studios

Verizon Wireless, “Brothers”
Chris Franklin, Big Sky Editorial

Obama for America, “Lena’s First Time”
Cristina Rackoff, Big Sky Editorial

Ragu, “Hamster”
Chris Franklin, Big Sky Editorial

Outstanding Sound – Feature Film

Gangster Squad
Cameron Frankley and Dean Zupancic, Warner Bros. Sound
Jason W. Jennings and Jon Taylor, CAS

Erik Aadahl and Ethan Van der Ryn
John Reitz and Gregg Rudloff, Warner Bros. Sound

Pacific Rim
Scott Gershin, Formosa Group
John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Timothy O. LeBlanc, Warner Bros. Sound

Iron Man 3
Mark Stoeckinger, Michael Keller, Mike Prestwood Smith and Andrew DeCrisofaro, Todd/Soundelux

Richard King and Michael Babcock, Warner Bros. Sound
Andy Nelson, Fox Studios Post Production Services

Outstanding Sound – Television

Banshee, “Pilot”
Brad North, Elmo Ponsdomenech, William Freesh, Luis Galdames and Tiffany Griffith, Universal Sound

Dexter, “A Beautiful Day”
Pete Elia, CAS; Kevin Roache, CAS; Fredric Judkins, MPSE; Christian Buenaventura and John Snider, Technicolor Creative Services

The Americans, “Mutually Assured Destruction”
Ken Hahn, James Redding and Neil Cedar, Digital Cinema, LLC

Homeland, “Beirut is Back”
Alan Decker and Nello Torri, Universal Sound
Craig Dellinger, Larry Long and Jonathan Golodner, Sony Pictures Studios

Game of Thrones, “The Climb”
Paula Fairfield, Brad Katona, Jed Dodge, Onnalee Blank and Mathew Waters, Todd AO

Outstanding Sound – Commercial

Honda, “Hands”
Anthony Moore, Factory

Lurpak, “Weave Your Magic”
Aaron Reynolds, Wave Studios

Barclaycard, “Toys”
Sam Robson, Factory

Nextel/Ferrari, “Combustion”
Doobie White, Therapy Studios

Lurpak, “Good, Proper Food”
Dan Beckwith, Factory

Outstanding Visual Effects – Feature Film

Man of Steel
Keith Miller, Daniel Barrett, Phillip Leonhardt, Thelvin Cabezas and Mark Tait, Weta Digital

Star Trek Into Darkness
Dan Pearson, Jay Cooper, Alex Prichard and Adrien Saint Girons, Industrial Light & Magic
Adam Watkins, Pixomondo

Iron Man 3
Guy Williams, Aaron Gilman, Matt Aitken, Dan Macarin and Thrain Shadbolt, Weta Digital

Pacific Rim
Lindy DeQuattro, Eddie Pasquarello, Nigel Sumner, Derrick Carlin and Chris Lentz, Industrial Light & Magic

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, R. Christopher White and Eric Reynolds, Weta Digital

Outstanding Visual Effects – Television

Banshee, “Pilot”
Armen Kevorkian, Mike Oakley, Jeremy Jozwik, Andranik Taranyan and Gevork Babityan, Encore VFX

Under the Dome, “Pilot”
Stephan Fleet, Matthieu Perin, Jeremy Jozwik, Chad Schott and Arutyun Arthur Sayan, Encore Hollywood

Game of Thrones, “Valar Dohaeris”
Joe Bauer and Jabbar Raisani
Jörn Grosshans and Sven Martin, Pixomondo
Doug Campbell, Spin VFX

Magic City, “Angels of Death”
Mark Velazquez, Seth Brower, Doug Ludwig, Jeremy Jozwik and Chad Schott, Encore Hollywood

Hawaii Five-0, “La O Na Makuahine”
Armen Kevorkian, Jeremy Jozwik, Rick Ramirez, Gevork Babityan and Andranik Taranyan, Encore VFX

Outstanding Visual Effects – Commercial

Galaxy, “Chauffeur”
Simon French, William Bartlett, Stephen Cullingford and Grant Walker, Framestore

Johnnie Walker, “Where Flavour Is King”
Colin Renshaw, Alt.vfx

Kia, “Space Babies”
Brian Burke, Charles Abou Aad, Jordan Harris and Patrick Ferguson, Method Studios

Abbott’s Village Bakery, “Free Range”
Colin Renshaw, Alt.vfx

Qualcomm Snapdragon, “Coming Soon”
James Dick, Andy Rowan Robinson, Shayne Ryan and Russell Dodgson, Framestore

In addition to the craft categories, the HPA also announced the winners of the engineering excellence award as well as the HPA judges award for creativity and innovation in postproduction. These awards recognize the technical excellence and creative innovation that is helping to drive the post industry forward.

The winners of the HPA Engineering Excellence Award sponsored by NAB Show are:

DTS, Inc.

NVIDIA GRID(tm) Visual Computing Appliance (VCA)

Sony Pictures Imageworks and The Foundry

16 bit 4:4:4:4 Transcoding Technology

The winner of the HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation in Postproduction is:

Park Road Post Production
Next Generation Feature Film Workflow: Enabling HFR 48FPS Stereoscopic 3D On Set to On Screen

For more information about the HPA Awards, visit

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.