Wednesday, June 12, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwards2012 Film Independent Spirit Award Nominations Announced

2012 Film Independent Spirit Award Nominations Announced


Film Independent, the non-profit arts organization that produces the Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival, announced nominations for the 2012 Film Independent Spirit Awards. Nominees for Best Feature include 50/50, Beginners, Drive, Take Shelter and The Artist.

Margin Call was selected to receive the annual Robert Altman Award, which is bestowed upon one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast.

“The Film Independent Spirit Awards recognize the finest artistic achievements across the broad spectrum of independent filmmaking – from emerging talent working on a shoestring budget to established auteurs,” said Film Independent senior director Sean Mc Manus. “The 2012 nominees tell their stories in such an authentic way and reflect the inclusive nature of the independent filmmaking community. We are delighted to support them and expand the audience for their work.”

“The Spirit Awards focuses primarily on American independents, so it was an honor to serve alongside an esteemed and dedicated group of indie film colleagues to determine many of the 2012 nominees,” said producer and chair of the American narrative feature nominating committee Gail Mutrux. “It was an invigorating process – experiencing first-hand the vast array of storytelling that defines independent film, and discovering many new talents whose films inspired us.”

Winners will be announced at the Film Independent Spirit Awards on Feb. 25. The 27th annual awards ceremony will be held as a daytime luncheon in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica, and the premiere broadcast will air later that evening at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT on IFC.

The 2012 Independent Spirit Award Nominations are:

Best Feature

Producers: Evan Goldberg, Ben Karlin, Seth Rogen

Producers: Miranda de Pencier, Lars Knudsen, Leslie Urdang, Dean Vanech, Jay Van Hoy

Producers: Michel Litvak, John Palermo, Marc Platt, Gigi Pritzker, Adam Siegel

Take Shelter
Producers: Tyler Davidson, Sophia Lin

The Artist
Producer: Thomas Langmann

The Descendants
Producers: Jim Burke, Alexander Payne, Jim Taylor

Best Director

Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist

Mike Mills – Beginners

Jeff Nichols – Take Shelter

Alexander Payne – The Descendants

Nicolas Winding Refn Drive

Best Screenplay

Joseph Cedar – Footnote

Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist

Tom Mccarthy – Win Win

Mike Mills – Beginners

Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash – The Descendants

Best First Feature
(Award given to the director and producer)

Another Earth
Director: Mike Cahill
Producers: Mike Cahill, Hunter Gray, Brit Marling and Nicholas Shumaker

In The Family
Director: Patrick Wang
Producers: Robert Tonino, Andrew Van Den Houten and Patrick Wang

Margin Call
Director: J.C. Chandor
Producers: Robert Ogden Barnum, Michael Benaroya, Neal Dodson, Joe Jenckes, Corey Moosa and Zachary Quinto

Martha Marcy May Marlene
Director: Sean Durkin
Producers: Antonio Campos, Patrick Cunningham, Chris Maybach and Josh Mond

Natural Selection
Director: Robbie Pickering
Producers: Brion Hambel and Paul Jensen

Best First Screenplay

Mike Cahill and Brit Marling – Another Earth

J.C. Chandor – Margin Call

Patrick Dewitt – Terri

Phil Johnston – Cedar Rapids

Will Reiser – 50/50

John Cassavetes Award
(Award given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director and producer)

Writer/Director: Evan Glodell
Producers: Evan Glodell, Vincent Grashaw

Writer/Director: Maryam Keshavarz
Producers: Karin Chien, Maryam Keshavarz and Melissa Lee

Hello Lonesome
Writer/Director/Producer: Adam Reid

Writer/Director: Dee Rees
Producer: Nekisa Cooper

The Dynamiter
Writer: Brad Inglesby
Director: Matthew Gordon
Producers: Kevin Abrams, Matthew Gordon, Merilee Holt, Art Jones, Mike Jones, Nate Tuck and Amile Wilson

Best Female Lead

Lauren Ambrose – Think Of Me

Rachael Harris – Natural Selection

Adepero Oduye – Pariah

Elizabeth Olsen – Martha Marcy May Marlene

Michelle Williams – My Week With Marilyn

Best Male Lead

Demián Bichir – A Better Life

Jean Dujardin – The Artist

Ryan Gosling – Drive

Woody Harrelson – Rampart

Michael Shannon – Take Shelter

Best Supporting Female

Jessica Chastain – Take Shelter

Anjelica Huston – 50/50

Janet McTeer – Albert Nobbs

Harmony Santana – Gun Hill Road

Shailene Woodley – The Descendants

Best Supporting Male

Albert Brooks – Drive

John Hawkes – Martha Marcy May Marlene

Christopher Plummer – Beginners

John C. Reilly – Cedar Rapids

Corey Stoll – Midnight In Paris

Best Cinematography

Joel Hodge – Bellflower

Benjamin Kasulke – The Off Hours

Darius Khondji – Midnight In Paris

Guillaume Schiffman – The Artist

Jeffrey Waldron – The Dynamiter

Best Documentary
(Award given to the director and producer)

An African Election
Director/Producer: Jarreth Merz

Bill Cunningham New York
Director: Richard Press
Producer: Philip Gefter

The Interrupters
Director/Producer: Steve James
Producer: Alex Kotlowitz

The Redemption Of General Butt Naked
Directors/Producers: Eric Strauss, Daniele Anastasion

We Were Here
Director/Producer: David Weissman

Best International Film

A Separation (Iran)
Director: Asghar Farhadi

Melancholia, (Denmark, Sweden, France, Germany)
Director: Lars Von Trier

Shame (UK)
Director: Steve Mcqueen

The Kid With A Bike (Belgium, France, Italy)
Director: Jean-Pierre Dardenne and Luc Dardenne

Tyrannosaur (UK)
Director: Paddy Considine

Robert Altman Award
(Award given to one film’s director, casting director and its ensemble cast)

Margin Call
Director: J.C. Chandor
Casting Directors: Tiffany Little Canfield and Bernard Telsey
Ensemble Cast: Penn Badgley, Simon Baker, Paul Bettany, Jeremy Irons, Mary Mcdonnell, Demi Moore, Zachary Quinto, Kevin Spacey and Stanley Tucci

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D