Wednesday, July 17, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeCraftsAnimationThe Academy Announces 2020 Student Academy Award Winners

The Academy Announces 2020 Student Academy Award Winners


AcademyWhile colleges across the country are having difficulties reopening in the middle of a pandemic, The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has picked the 18 student winners for the 47th Student Academy Awards competition. This year’s winners were picked from a total of 1,474 entries, 207 domestic and 121 from colleges and universities overseas. The Baltic Film & Media School, Tallinn University, Estonia, and Institut des Arts de Diffusion, Belgium are three of the schools receiving first-time honors.

All the winners of the Student Academy Awards are also eligible to compete for the 2020 Oscars in the Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film and Documentary Short Subject categories along with previous winners who accounted for 64 Oscar nominations and 13 won or shared Oscars total.

The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 to provide a platform for emerging global talent by creating opportunities within the industry to showcase their work.  A few of the previous Student Academy Award winners include Patricia CardosaPete DocterCary FukunagaSpike LeeTrey ParkerPatricia Riggen and Robert Zemeckis.

The winners, listed alphabetically by category:

Alternative/Experimental (Domestic and International Film Schools)
Curry Sicong Tian, “Simulacra,” University of Southern California

Animation (Domestic Film Schools)
Pilar Garcia-Fernandezsesma, “Ciervo,” Rhode Island School of Design
Daniela Dwek, Maya Mendonca and Chrisy Baek, “Hamsa,” School of Visual Arts
Kate Namowicz and Skyler Porras, “Mime Your Manners,” Ringling College of Art & Design

Animation (International Film Schools)
Pascal Schelbli, “The Beauty,” Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg (Germany)

Documentary (Domestic Film Schools)
Allison A. Waite, “The Dope Years: The Story of Latasha Harlins,” University of Southern California
Laura Zéphirin, “Making Waves,” New York University
Yucong Chen, “Unfinished Lives,” University of Southern California

Documentary (International Film Schools)
Maren Klakegg, “Dear Father…,” Westerdals Institute of Film and Media, Kristiania University College (Norway)

Narrative (Domestic Film Schools)
Karishma Dube, “Bittu,” New York University
Rommel Villa Barriga, “Sweet Potatoes,” University of Southern California
Talia Smith, “Umama,” New York University

Narrative (International Film Schools)
Percival Argüero Mendoza, “Crescendo,” Centro de Capacitación Cinematográfica (Mexico)
Marie Mc Court, “I Was Still There When You Left Me,” Institut des Arts de Diffusion (Belgium)
German Golub, “My Dear Corpses,” Baltic Film & Media School, Tallinn University (Estonia)

The above films are also eligible for gold, silver and bronze medal placements, which will be announced on Wednesday, October 21.

- Advertisment -


Beau Borders

Contender Profile: The Greyhound Sound Team on Creating Authentic 1940s Sounds...

“And the Oscar goes to,” is a familiar phrase we anticipate hearing each year in the 93-year history of the Academy Awards. This year,...