Sunday, July 14, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsA Roomful of Winners: ACE Eddie Awards Nominees

A Roomful of Winners: ACE Eddie Awards Nominees


Everyone was a winner at the ACE Eddie Awards nominee cocktail party held Wednesday at the Universal Studios Grill. As a prelude to the annual awards ceremony, Alan Heim, ACE, president of the American Cinema Editors, presented statuettes to the nominated editors in 10 categories of film, television and documentaries and handed out plaques to student nominees. American Cinema Editors (ACE) is an honorary society of motion picture editors founded in 1950.

Among the attendees were Dianne Adler, ACE, slated to receive the Lifetime Career Achievement Award honoring veteran editors whose body of work and reputation within the industry is outstanding, and journalist Carolyn Giardina, who will receive the esteemed Robert Wise Award, which recognizes a journalist whose writing has contributed significantly in elevating public consciousness to the crucial role of editing in the filmmaking process.

The special evening, which included drinks and hors d’oeuvres, allowed the top editors in the entertainment industry to mix, mingle and meet many of their contemporaries in a relaxed atmosphere. Among the nominees present were dramatic feature editors Joel Cox, ACE and Gary Roach, ACE (American Sniper), Sandra Adair, ACE (Boyhood), William Goldenberg, ACE (The Imitation Game), John Gilroy, ACE (Nightcrawler), and Tom Cross (Whiplash) as well as feature animation editors Tim Mertens (Big Hero 6) and Edie Ichioka, ACE (The Boxtrolls).

On the television front some of the editors present included Anthony Boys (Veep: “Special Relationship”), Byron Smith (House of Cards: “Chapter 14”), Catherine Haight (Transparent: Pilot), Scott Vickrey, ACE (The Good Wife: “A Few Words”), Josh Earl, ACE and Johnny Bishop (Deadliest Catch: “Lost At Sea”) and Elena Maganini, ACE and Michael Ornstein, ACE (Madam Secretary: “Pilot”).

Also sighted at the event were ACE executive director, Jenni McCormick, and a number of members of the ACE board of directors, including vice president Stephen Rivkin, ACE, treasurer, Ed Abroms, ACE, directors Maysie Hoy, ACE, and Doug Ibold, ACE, and associate directors Chris Innis, ACE and Mark Helfrich, ACE.

Even after the presentation, attendees lingered, talking shop and acknowledging their fellow editors for winning recognition as the best in the business.

ACE Eddie Awards nominee cocktail party Photo Gallery

Photos by Peter Zakhary / Tilt Photo
















- Advertisment -


Beau Borders

Contender Profile: The Greyhound Sound Team on Creating Authentic 1940s Sounds...

“And the Oscar goes to,” is a familiar phrase we anticipate hearing each year in the 93-year history of the Academy Awards. This year,...