Thursday, June 13, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsAcademy: 81 Countries to Compete for 2015 Foreign Language Film Oscar

Academy: 81 Countries to Compete for 2015 Foreign Language Film Oscar


AMPAS announced that 81 countries have submitted films for consideration in the foreign language film category for the 88th Academy Awards, including first-time entrant Paraguay.

The 2015 submissions are:

Afghanistan, Utopia, Hassan Nazer, director;
Albania, Bota, Iris Elezi, Thomas Logoreci, directors;
Algeria, Twilight of Shadows, Mohamed Lakhdar Hamina, director;
Argentina, The Clan, Pablo Trapero, director;
Australia, Arrows of the Thunder Dragon, Greg Sneddon, director;
Austria, Goodnight Mommy, Veronika Franz, Severin Fiala, directors;
Bangladesh, Jalal’s Story, Abu Shahed Emon, director;
Belgium, The Brand New Testament, Jaco Van Dormael, director;
Bosnia and Herzegovina, Our Everyday Story, Ines Tanović, director;
Brazil, The Second Mother, Anna Muylaert, director;
Bulgaria, The Judgment, Stephan Komandarev, director;
Cambodia, The Last Reel, Sotho Kulikar, director;
Canada, Félix and Meira, Maxime Giroux, director;
Chile, The Club, Pablo Larraín, director;
China, Go Away Mr. Tumor, Han Yan, director;
Colombia, Embrace of the Serpent, Ciro Guerra, director;
Costa Rica, Imprisoned, Esteban Ramírez, director;
Croatia, The High Sun, Dalibor Matanić, director;
Czech Republic, Home Care, Slavek Horak, director;
Denmark, A War, Tobias Lindholm, director;
Dominican Republic, Sand Dollars, Laura Amelia Guzmán, Israel Cárdenas, directors;
Estonia, 1944, Elmo Nüganen, director;
Ethiopia, Lamb, Yared Zeleke, director;
Finland, The Fencer, Klaus Härö, director;
France, Mustang, Deniz Gamze Ergüven, director;
Georgia, Moira, Levan Tutberidze, director;
Germany, Labyrinth of Lies, Giulio Ricciarelli, director;
Greece, Xenia, Panos H. Koutras, director;
Guatemala, Ixcanul, Jayro Bustamante, director;
Hong Kong, To the Fore, Dante Lam, director;
Hungary, Son of Saul, László Nemes, director;
Iceland, Rams, Grímur Hákonarson, director;
India, Court, Chaitanya Tamhane, director;
Iran, Muhammad: The Messenger of God, Majid Majidi, director;
Iraq, Memories on Stone, Shawkat Amin Korki, director;
Ireland, Viva, Paddy Breathnach, director;
Israel, Baba Joon, Yuval Delshad, director;
Italy, Don’t Be Bad, Claudio Caligari, director;
Ivory Coast, Run, Philippe Lacôte, director;
Japan, 100 Yen Love, Masaharu Take, director;
Jordan, Theeb, Naji Abu Nowar, director;
Kazakhstan, Stranger, Yermek Tursunov, director;
Kosovo, Babai, Visar Morina, director;
Kyrgyzstan, Heavenly Nomadic, Mirlan Abdykalykov, director;
Latvia, Modris, Juris Kursietis, director;
Lebanon, Void, Naji Bechara, Jad Beyrouthy, Zeina Makki, Tarek Korkomaz, Christelle
Ighniades, Maria Abdel Karim, Salim Haber, directors;
Lithuania, The Summer of Sangaile, Alanté Kavaïté, director;
Luxembourg, Baby (A)lone, Donato Rotunno, director;
Macedonia, Honey Night, Ivo Trajkov, director;
Malaysia, Men Who Save the World, Liew Seng Tat, director;
Mexico, 600 Miles, Gabriel Ripstein, director;
Montenegro, You Carry Me, Ivona Juka, director;
Morocco, Aida, Driss Mrini, director;
Nepal, Talakjung vs Tulke, Basnet Nischal, director;
Netherlands, The Paradise Suite, Joost van Ginkel, director;
Norway, The Wave, Roar Uthaug, director;
Pakistan, Moor, Jami, director;
Palestine, The Wanted 18, Amer Shomali, Paul Cowan, directors;
Paraguay, Cloudy Times, Arami Ullón, director;
Peru, NN, Héctor Gálvez, director;
Philippines, Heneral Luna, Jerrold Tarog, director;
Poland, 11 Minutes, Jerzy Skolimowski, director;
Portugal, Arabian Nights – Volume 2, The Desolate One, Miguel Gomes, director;
Romania, Aferim! Radu Jude, director;
Russia, Sunstroke, Nikita Mikhalkov, director;
Serbia, Enclave, Goran Radovanović, director;
Singapore, 7 Letters, Royston Tan, Kelvin Tong, Eric Khoo, Jack Neo, Tan Pin Pin, Boo Junfeng, K. Rajagopal, directors;
Slovakia, Goat, Ivan Ostrochovský, director;
Slovenia, The Tree, Sonja Prosenc, director;
South Africa, The Two of Us, Ernest Nkosi, director;
South Korea, The Throne, Lee Joon-ik, director;
Spain, Flowers, Jon Garaño, Jose Mari Goenaga, directors;
Sweden, A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence, Roy Andersson, director;
Switzerland, Iraqi Odyssey, Samir, director;
Taiwan, The Assassin, Hou Hsiao-hsien, director;
Thailand, How to Win at Checkers (Every Time), Josh Kim, director;
Turkey, Sivas, Kaan Müjdeci, director;
United Kingdom, Under Milk Wood, Kevin Allen, director;
Uruguay, A Moonless Night, Germán Tejeira, director;
Venezuela, Gone with the River, Mario Crespo, director;
Vietnam, Jackpot, Dustin Nguyen, director.

The 88th Academy Awards nominations will be announced on Jan. 14, at 5:30 a.m. PT at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D