Thursday, April 18, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsAcademy Honors 2011 Student Academy Award Winners

Academy Honors 2011 Student Academy Award Winners


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences presented its 38th Annual Student Academy Awards, June 11, in Beverly Hills. Front row (from left): Julian Higgins, Avner Geller, Hallvar Witzø, Max Zähle, Tal S. Shamir, Wonjung Bae and Stevie Lewis. Back row (from left): Shawn Wines, Theo Rigby, Zach Hyer, Karzan Kader, Bernardo Warman, Shaofu Zhang, Anthony Weeks and Soham Mehta. (Photo by: Todd Wawrychuk/©A.M.P.A.S.)
Fifteen students from colleges and universities around the world were honored June 11 as winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences‘ 38th Annual Student Academy Awards competition. For several days, they had participated in a slate of industry-related activities and social events culminating in the awards ceremony, which featured as presenters actress Jennifer Garner, Oscar-nominated animator John Musker and Academy Award-winning producer Edward Zwick alongside Academy president Tom Sherak at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

The 2011 winners are:

Alternative category
Gold Medal: The Vermeers, Tal S. Shamir, The New School, New York

Animation category
Gold Medal (tie): Correspondence, Zach Hyer, Pratt Institute, New York; and Dragonboy, Bernardo Warman and Shaofu Zhang, Academy of Art University, California
Bronze Medal: Defective Detective, Avner Geller and Stevie Lewis, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida

Documentary category
Gold Medal: Vera Klement: Blunt Edge, Wonjung Bae, Columbia College Chicago
Silver Medal: Imaginary Circumstances, Anthony Weeks, Stanford University
Bronze Medal: Sin Pais (Without Country), Theo Rigby, Stanford University

Narrative category
Gold Medal: Thief, Julian Higgins, American Film Institute, California
Silver Medal: High Maintenance, Shawn Wines, Columbia University
Bronze Medal: Fatakra, Soham Mehta, University of Texas at Austin

Foreign Student Film category
Gold Medal: Tuba Atlantic, Hallvar Witzo, The Norwegian Film School, Norway
Silver Medal: Bekas, Karzan Kader, Stockholm Academy of Dramatic Arts, Sweden
Bronze Medal: Raju, Max Zaehle, Hamburg Media School, Germany

Gold Medal award winners received cash grants of $5,000, Silver Medal award winners received $3,000 and Bronze Medal award winners received $2,000.

The U.S. students first competed in one of three regional competitions. Each region was permitted to send to the Academy up to three finalists in each of the four categories. Academy members then screened the finalists’ films and voted to select the winners. The foreign student winners were selected by Academy members at special voting screenings from a pool of 52 entries from 32 countries.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 43 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards.

- Advertisment -


Beowulf and 3-D

By Henry Turner Beowulf in 3D is a unique experience, raising not just questions about future of cinema, but also posing unique problems that the...