Friday, July 19, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsArt Directors Guild Names Production Designer Lilly Kilvert for Lifetime Achievement Award

Art Directors Guild Names Production Designer Lilly Kilvert for Lifetime Achievement Award


The Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) has announced that two-time Academy Award®-nominated Production Designer Lilly Kilvert will be presented with an Art Directors Guild Lifetime Achievement Award at the 27th Annual ADG Awards. ADG’s Art Directors Council will honor Kilvert for her distinguished body of work over four decades on Saturday February 18, 2023, at the InterContinental Los Angeles Downtown. The announcement was made today by Guild President Nelson Coates, ADG and Awards Producers Michael Allen Glover, ADG and Megan Elizabeth Bell, ADG. #adgawards

This is the third in a quartet of Lifetime Achievements Awards that will be presented at the ceremony, one for each of the four ADG Councils: Art Directors (AD); Set Designers and Model Makers (SDMM); Illustrators and Matte Artists (IMA); and Scenic, Title, and Graphic Artists (STG).

AD Council Chair Evan J. Rohde, ADG, said, “Lilly has designed an impressive breadth of memorable sets, from the controlled, period environments of Nychols Hytner’s The Crucible to the dynamic and surging city streets of Edward Zwick’s The Siege. She has also built a reputation as a strong communicator and collaborator who succeeds in balancing the beautiful with the shootable. The Guild is honored to name Lilly as the recipient of this Lifetime Achievement Award.”

Production designer Lilly Kilvert has designed more than 26 feature films and three TV series over the past four decades. She has been nominated twice for an Academy Award for Best Art Direction-Set Direction—once for The Last Samurai and the second time for Legends of the Fall – both filmed with longtime collaborator director Edward Zwick. Her work on The Last Samurai was nominated by Art Directors Guild for an Excellence in Production Design Award, as was her design for The Crucible.

Cameraimage, the premiere international celebration for cinematographers, honored Kilvert with the Production Designer with Unique Visual Sensibility Award for her body of work that also includes To Live and Die in L.A., directed by William FriedkinValkyrie, from Bryan Singer; Strange Days, directed Kathryn Bigelow; and The Siege, also with Zwick. Kilvert’s TV credits include the pilot for Michael Mann‘s HBO series “Luck,” and two seasons of the Netflix drama “Marco Polo.”

As previously announced, Academy Award®-nominated filmmaker Baz Luhrmann (Elvis) and his producing partner and collaborator Academy Award- winning Catherine Martin will receive the prestigious Cinematic Imagery Award. Multi- Academy Award- winning filmmaker Guillermo del Toro (Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio) will be honored with the prestigious William Cameron Menzies Award, celebrating his visually striking and emotionally rich body of work.

Michael Denering (Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, Batman Returns, Jurassic Park) will be honored with an ADG Lifetime Achievement Award from Scenic, Title, and Graphic Artists (STG); Storyboard Artist Janet Kusnick (Silverado, George of the Jungle, and Kill Bill 2) by the Illustrators and Matte Artists (IMA); and the Set Designers & Model Makers Council (SDMM) will be announced shortly.

The Art Directors Guild’s Excellence in Production Design Awards honor excellence in production design in theatrical motion pictures, television, commercials, music videos and animated feature films. The 2023 ADG Awards will be produced by Art Director Michael Allen Glover, ADG (Station Eleven, The Alienist, Solos) and Production Designer Megan Elizabeth Bell, ADG (Out of the Blue, Breakwater, American Murderer).

ADG Awards are bestowed upon productions filmed in the U.S. by producers signatory to the IATSE agreement and upon foreign entries without restrictions.

Further inquiries regarding the ADG Awards may be directed to ADG Awards & Events Director Debbie Patton at (818)762-9995 [email protected]. A complete list of past honorees can be found on ADG’s website.

The ADG awards are proud to be sponsored by Presenting Level: Sweetwater/NEP Live Events; Premier Level: Astek Wallcovering, CAA Creative Artists Agency, Cush Light, Dazian, Netflix; Diamond Level: HBO Max, Interior Design Solutions/ Belbien,Paramount Pictures, Universal Pictures, Unreal Engine, Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures; Platinum Level: Amazon Studios, Goodnight Productions, Innovative Artists, Pixar, Universal Studios Operations Group, WPA Worldwide Production Agency; Gold Level: WME; Silver Level: First Entertainment Credit Union, Murtha Skouras Agency; Media Sponsors: Variety, The Hollywood Reporter, The Wrap, Below the Line, SHOOTonline.

- Advertisment -


Beastie Boys

EMMY WATCH 2020: The Sound for the Beastie Boys Story Doc

The original experimental punk, hip hop, rap rock, alternative band of best friends Adam “MCA” Yauch, Michael “Mike D” Diamond, and Adam “Ad-Rock” Horovitz, better...