Saturday, June 15, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsAmerican Hustle, Captain Phillips and Frozen Take Top Honors at Eddie Awards

American Hustle, Captain Phillips and Frozen Take Top Honors at Eddie Awards


Christopher Rouse, A.C.E. ('Captain Phillips') Accepts his ACE E
Christopher Rouse and Leonardo DiCaprio on stage at the Eddie Awards. (Photo by Linda Treydte/Tilt Photo).

The big wins at the 64th Annual ACE Eddie Awards went to Captain Phillips edited by Christopher Rouse and American Hustle edited by Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten winning for best edited feature film (dramatic) and best edited feature film (comedy/musical) respectively.

The black-tie ceremony celebrating 2013’s best editing was held in the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel with over 1,000 in attendance.

As the evening’s master of ceremonies, actor Bob Odenkirk (Nebraska, Breaking Bad) warmed up the crowd by reading “letters” from the DGA and SAG. The Directors Guild advised, “Please do not compliment the editors too much. It might go to their heads.” On the other hand, the Actor’s Guild suggested, “Please, kiss the editors’ asses for all of us.”

Award-winning director Paul Greengrass received the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year honor presented to him by his Captain Phillips star Tom Hanks. The actor talked about how Greengrass’ early career as a journalist and documentarian influenced his directorial, hand-held style as a feature film director and spoke of Greengrass as a director “who came to making movies through a biological need to put onto the screen the stories that get his attention, the narratives that burn in his head.” Greengrass in turn thanked the film editors that helped him on his journey and shared his philosophy, “Listen to the film tell you what it needs to be.”

Trophies were handed out in 10 categories of film, television and documentaries. Jeff Draheim won best edited animated feature film for Frozen. Douglas Blush, Kevin Klauber and Jason Zeldes won best edited documentary feature for 20 Feet From Stardom.

Tom Hanks with ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year honoree, Paul Greengrass.
Tom Hanks with ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year honoree, Paul Greengrass. (Photo by Linda Treydte/Tilt Photo).

In the best edited television documentary category, which was introduced last year, Chris Peterson took top honors for editing The Assassination of President Kennedy. Mary Ann Bernard, (director Steven Soderbergh using his mother’s name as an editing pseudonym) garnered the best edited miniseries or motion picture for television award for Behind The Candelabra.

The Eddie for best edited one-hour series for commercial television went to Breaking Bad, “Felina” edited by Skip MacDonald, while Homeland, “Big Man in Tehran” edited by Terry Kelley, took the award for best edited one-hour series for non-commercial television.

David Rogers and Claire Scanlon finished off their last season bytaking home the best edited half-hour series for television Eddie for The Office, “Finale. Best edited non-scripted series went to Anthony Bourdain – Parts Unknown, “Tokyo” edited by Nick Brigden.

Lifetime Career Achievement Awards went to industry veterans Richard Halsey and Robert Jones. In presenting the award to Halsey, her collaborator on three films, dean of the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television, Teri Schwartz, spoke of the “balancing act of tremendous creativity, artistry and practicality” that is required of a top editor. In accepting his honor, Halsey, Oscar winner for Rocky, commented, “This is the single most thrilling experience in my life.”

ACE president Alan Heim presented the Heritage Award to Randy Roberts. (Photo by Linda Treydte/Tilt Photo).
ACE president Alan Heim presented the Heritage Award to Randy Roberts. (Photo by Linda Treydte/Tilt Photo).
Currently teaching at USC, Jones received three Oscar and two Eddie nominations for editing and won a best screenplay Oscar for Coming Home (shared with Waldo Salt and Nancy Dowd). Actor, Warren Beatty, who worked with Jones on several movies, including Shampoo and Heaven Can Wait, presented the editor with his Eddie. Accepting the award, Jones shared his editing secrets, “I relied on my instincts…My gut is the harbinger of my craft.”

The special Heritage Award has only been presented a few times in the history of the American Cinema Editors when warranted by an outstanding individual. This year was one of those rare occasions. ACE president Alan Heim presented the honor to Randy Roberts for his unwavering commitment to the organization. On the board since 1996, Roberts served twice as president, twice as vice president and currently serves as director of marketing.

Beating out hundreds of competitors from film schools and universities around the country, Ambar Salinas of Video Symphony won the student editing competition. Oscar-winning film editor and sound designer Walter Murch presented the award to the Salinas.

Additional presenters included Leonardo DiCaprio, Jonah Hill, Will Forte, June Squibb, Peter Krause, Hamish Linklater, Sarah Paulson, James Wolk, Michiel Huisman, Steve Coogan and William Goldenberg.

The winners of the 64th Annual ACE Eddie Award are:

Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic):
Captain Phillips
Christopher Rouse, ACE

Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy Or Musical):
American Hustle
Jay Cassidy, ACE, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten, ACE

Best Edited Animated Feature Film:
Jeff Draheim

Best Edited Documentary (Feature):
20 Feet from Stardom
Douglas Blush, Kevin Klauber and Jason Zeldes

Best Edited Documentary (Television):
The Assassination of President Kennedy
Chris A. Peterson

Best Edited Half-Hour Series for Television:
The Office, “Finale”
David Rogers & Claire Scanlon

Best Edited One-Hour Series for Commercial Television:
Breaking Bad, “Felina”
Skip MacDonald ACE

Best Edited One-Hour Series for Non-Commercial Television:
Homeland, “Big Man in Tehran”
Terry Kelley, ACE

Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television:
Behind the Candelabra
Mary Ann Bernard

Best Edited Non-Scripted Series:
Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown, Tokyo
Nick Brigden

Best Student Editing
Ambar Salinas, Video Symphony

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D