Monday, June 24, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsAmerican Society of Cinematographers Awards Winners

American Society of Cinematographers Awards Winners


33rdASC.logoOn February 9, 2019, the American Society of Cinematographers celebrated the Society’s 100th anniversary alongside masters of imagery. This year’s ASC Awards was held in the Ray Dolby Ballroom at the Hollywood and Highland complex – just blocks away from the ASC Clubhouse, where the after-party was held. Turner Classic Movie’s Ben Mankiewicz hosted this  year’s awards show for Outstanding achievements in Cinematography that has more than 1,500 people in attendance.

Ben Mankiewicz hosting the 33rd ASC Awards

A reel showcasing a historical retrospective of motion picture photography from the last century, introduced by John Simmons, ASC, was played and a short documentary on the history of the ASC concluded with NASA astronaut AJ “Drew” Feustel sending the ASC Awards and its attendees a greeting from the International Space Station.

The evening’s presentations began with the ASC Board of Governors Award, given to actor, producer, musician and philanthropist Jeff Bridges — who was introduced by actor-stuntman Loyd Catlett, with many more honorees to follow.

Jeff Bridges receives the Governors Board Award
Jeff Bridges receives the Board ofGovernors Award

And the winners are:

Theatrical Release
Łukasz Żal, PSC – Cold War

Motion Picture, Miniseries or Pilot Made for Television
James Friend, BSC – Patrick Melrose, “Bad News”

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television

Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC – The Crown, “Beryl”

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television
Jon Joffin, ASC – Beyond, “Two Zero One”

Lifetime Achievement Award
Robert Richardson, ASC

Board of Governors Award
Jeff Bridges

Career Achievement in Television Award
Jeff Jur, ASC

Spotlight Award
Giorgi Shvelidze – Namme

Bud Stone Award
Franz Kraus



- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D