Sunday, April 14, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsAMPAS Announces Winners of Student Academy Awards

AMPAS Announces Winners of Student Academy Awards


Twelve students from nine U.S. colleges and universities and three students from outside the U.S. have been selected as winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 38th Annual Student Academy Awards competition. The student filmmakers will be brought to Los Angeles for a week of industry-related activities and social events that will culminate in the awards ceremony June 11, at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

The winners are (listed alphabetically by film title):

Alternative category
The Vermeers, Tal S. Shamir, The New School, New York

Animation category
Correspondence, Zach Hyer, Pratt Institute, New York
Defective Detective, Avner Geller and Stevie Lewis, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida
Dragonboy, Bernardo Warman and Shaofu Zhang, Academy of Art University, California

Documentary category
Imaginary Circumstances, Anthony Weeks, Stanford University
Sin Pais (Without Country), Theo Rigby, Stanford University
Vera Klement: Blunt Edge, Wonjung Bae, Columbia College Chicago

Narrative category
Fatakra, Soham Mehta, University of Texas at Austin
High Maintenance, Shawn Wines, Columbia University
Thief, Julian Higgins, American Film Institute, California

Foreign Student Film category
Bekas, Karzan Kader, Stockholm Academy of Dramatic Arts, Sweden
Raju, Max Zaehle, Hamburg Media School, Germany
Tuba Atlantic, Hallvar Witzo, Norwegian Film School, Norway

Academy members have viewed these films at special screenings to determine the winners’ placements – Gold, Silver or Bronze – which will not be revealed until the June 11 ceremony. Gold Medal award winners receive cash grants of $5,000, Silver Medal award winners receive $3,000 and Bronze Medal award winners receive $2,000.

The U.S. students first competed in one of three regional competitions. Each region is permitted to send to the Academy up to three finalists in each of the four categories. Academy members then screened the finalists’ films and voted to select the winners. The foreign students were selected from a pool of 52 entries from 32 countries.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 43 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. At the 83rd Academy Awards earlier this year, 2010 Student Academy Award winner Luke Matheny took home the Oscar for live action short film for God of Love. Tanel Toom, another 2010 Student Academy Award winner, also was nominated in the live action short film category for The Confession, and John Lasseter, a 1979 and 1980 Student Academy Award winner, was a nominee in the adapted screenplay category for Toy Story 3.

The 38th Annual Student Academy Awards ceremony on June 11 is free and open to the public. For more information, visit

- Advertisment -


Brad Allan

Over the Weekend 8/9/21: Night Court‘s Markie Post Dies, The Suicide...

Unfortunately, this past weekend was one full of sadness as a number of prominent and beloved people from across our industry passed away. First up, Markie...

Beowulf and 3-D