Sunday, May 19, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsASC Names Television Nominees

ASC Names Television Nominees


The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) announced the television nominees for its 27th Annual awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography. The winners will be announced Feb. 10, at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom.

Nominees in the one-hour Episodic Television Series Category are:

Balazs Bolygo, HSC for Cinemax’s Hunted (“Mort”)
Chris Manley, ASC for AMC’s Mad Men (“The Phantom”)
Kramer Morgenthau, ASC for HBO’s Game of Thrones (“The North Remembers”)
David Moxness, CSC, ASC for FOX’s Fringe (“Letters of Transit”)
Mike Spragg for Cinemax’s Strike Back (Episode 11)
David Stockton, ASC for FOX’s Alcatraz (Pilot)

The finalists in the Television Movie/Miniseries category are:

Michael Goi, ASC for FX’s American Horror Story: Asylum (“I am Anne Frank: Part 2”)
Florian Hoffmeister for the PBS Masterpiece presentation of Great Expectations
Arthur Reinhart for History Channel’s Hatfields & McCoys
Rogier Stoffers, ASC for HBO’s Hemingway & Gellhorn

The nominees for a half-hour episodic series are:

Ken Glassing for FOX’s Ben and Kate, (“Guitar Face”)
Michael Goi, ASC for NBC’s The New Normal, (“Pilot”)
Peter Levy, ASC for Showtime’s House of Lies, (“Gods of Dangerous Financial Instruments”)
Bradford Lipson for FX’s Wilfred, (“Truth”)
Michael Price for ABC’s Happy Endings, (“Four Weddings and a Funeral – Minus Three Weddings and One Funeral)”

“Creating the mood, composing the lighting, and constructing camera angles on a television production schedule to elicit just the right emotions for a scene presents many challenges,” said ASC president Stephen Lighthill. “These artists have shown imaginative creativity in crafting the appropriate visuals on a broadcast timeline.”

Moxness and Stockton have previously won ASC awards. Moxness took home the award for Smallville (2007), and earned an additional nomination for The Kennedys (2012). Stockton earned his ASC trophy for Eleventh Hour (2009), as well as nominations for Nikita (2011) and Chase (2012).

Goi’s double recognition makes these his third and fourth nominations. He was previously acknowledged for The Fixer (1999) and Judas (2005).

These are the fourth ASC nominations for both Manley and Morgenthau. Manley earned kudos for Threat Matrix (2004), CSI: NY (2005) and Mad Men (2011). Morgenthau received nominations for The Five People You Meet in Heaven (2005), Life on Mars (2009) and Family Limitation (2011).

“There is an incredible amount of outstanding work being done for television, which is seeing a resurgence in compelling story-telling thanks to a wider landscape for distribution,” Lighthill added. “It’s exciting to see what’s being done in the field. Audiences have a plethora of options now and these cinematographers have demonstrated superior skills in visual entertainment.”

- Advertisment -


SISU Cinema Robotics Announces SISU Battery Box for Robotic Camera Equipment

SISU Cinema Robotics has been transforming the landscape of robotic camera equipment by introducing user-friendly cinema technology designed to keep pace with the demands...

Beowulf and 3-D