Thursday, May 30, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsAwards Coverage-ACE Eddies

Awards Coverage-ACE Eddies


In an unprecedented tie at this year’s American Cinema Editors ACE Eddies, the award for Best Edited Drama was bestowed upon the editors of two films, Thelma Schoonmaker, A.C.E. for The Departed and Stephen Mirrione, A.C.E. and Douglas Crise for Babel.Guild president, Alan Heim, A.C.E. congratulated all the nominees “whose work has been judged as exceptional by their peers.” Show host, actress and comedienne Julia Sweeney called editors “the true heroes of film.” Actress Jenna Fischer of the hit series The Office explained the pause before her prepared speech, “It’s pre-roll. Editors like it!””The first draft of the script is just a sloppy first cut of your movie. Your final cut of the film is the last draft,” expounded director Quentin Tarantino who said of his long-time collaborator, editor Sally Menke, A.C.E., “She is my only genuine collaborator.” Actress Daryl Hannah presented Tarantino with the ACE Filmmaker of the Year Award, for his broad body of work and creative influence in film and television—especially through his innovative use of editing.Three-time Oscar nominated editor Frank Urioste, A.C.E. received an ACE Career Achievement Award presented by longtime collaborator, producer Walter Mirisch. Known for shaping a new breed of blockbuster action films such as RoboCop, Total Recall and the cult hit The Hitcher, Urioste attributed his success to advice given him by his mentor, two-time Academy Award-winning editor Ralph Winters, who taught that, “Only in the dictionary does success come before work.” The winners: Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic): Babel – Stephen Mirrione, A.C.E., Douglas Crise; The Departed – Thelma Schoonmaker, A.C.E.Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy Or Musical): Dreamgirls – Virginia Katz, A.C.E.Best Edited Documentary: An Inconvenient Truth – Jay Cassidy, A.C.E., Dan SwietlikBest Edited Miniseries Or Motion Picture For Non-Commercial Television: Prime Suspect 7: The Final Act, part one – Trevor WaiteBest Edited One-Hour Series For Commercial Television: Friday Night Lights “Pilot” – Conrad Gonzalez, A.C.E., Keith Henderson, Steve MichaelBest Edited One-Hour Series For Non-Commercial Television: The Wire “Boys of Summer” – Kate SanfordBest Edited Half-Hour Series For Television: The Office “Casino Night” – Dean Holland, David RogersBest Edited Miniseries Or Motion Picture For Commercial Television: The Path to 9/11, part two – Geoffrey Rowland, A.C.E., Eric Sears, A.C.E., Bryan Horne, David Handman, A.C.E., Mitchell DantonStudent Competition Winner: Alex Lamb, Chapman UniversityRobert Wise Award: Steven Cohen, A.C.E.Venue: Beverly Hilton HotelParking: $10 discounted self-park; easy in-and-outDrinks: Complimentary cocktails before the event; free wine at the tableFood: Lobster bisque; grilled salmon and melt-in-your mouth tenderloin of beef; very rich chocolate dessertAttire: Black tieShow Length: Moved along like a well-edited filmHost: Actress/comedienne Julia SweeneySwag: Sounds like the talent got lotsa goodies; attendees got a little ACE stick-on flashlight, which my husband liked enough to steal from meHigh Point: The tie for Best Dramatic FeatureLow Point: The end of an entertaining eveningBest Quote: Babel director Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu: “The editor is a doctor that can prevent the director from committing suicide”

Written by Mary Ann Skweres

Previous article
Next article
- Advertisment -


Joe B

Sound Editors Joe Beshenkovsky, Bobby Mackston, and Matt Temple on How...

George Carlin is one of the greatest stand-up comedians in American history, and thanks to co-directors Judd Apatow and Michael Bonfiglio, audiences get a revelatory...