Monday, June 17, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsBarbra Streisand to Receive ASC's Board of Governors Award

Barbra Streisand to Receive ASC’s Board of Governors Award



Barbra Streisand (Photo by Terry ONeill).
Barbra Streisand (Photo by Terry ONeill).

Barbra Streisand will receive the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) 2015 Board of Governors Award. The Oscar-winning filmmaker and entertainer will be honored during the 29th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards gala on Feb. 15 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza.

She is the only artist to achieve Oscar, Tony, Emmy, Grammy, Directors Guild of America, Golden Globe and Peabody Awards, as well as a National Medal of Honor, France’s Légion d’honneur, the American Film Institute Life Achievement Award and the Kennedy Center Honors.

Streisand won a best actress Oscar for Funny Girl (1968), which was her first role in a motion picture. She also was honored with an Academy Award as the composer of the song “Evergreen,” for her production, A Star Is Born (1976).

In 1983, Streisand became the first American woman to direct, write, produce and star in a feature-length motion picture, Yentl. Her directorial debut won her Golden Globes for best director and best motion picture, and the film earned five Oscar nominations.

Streisand also directed, produced and starred in The Prince Of Tides and The Mirror Has Two Faces, which together earned nine Oscar nominations.

In the field of recording, she has sold more albums than any other female artist among a long list of achievements, including her recent feat of becoming the only artist to achieve No.1 albums in six consecutive decades.

The ASC Board of Governors Award is given to an individual who has made extraordinary achievements in advancing the art and craft of filmmaking. Previous recipients include Harrison Ford, Julia Roberts, Christopher Nolan, Warren Beatty, Francis Ford Coppola, Sally Field, Morgan Freeman, Ron Howard, Sydney Pollack, Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg.

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D