Saturday, July 20, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsLocation Scout Beth Tate to Receive LMGI Trailblazer Award at Aug. 26...

Location Scout Beth Tate to Receive LMGI Trailblazer Award at Aug. 26 Ceremony


Beth Tate (photo courtesy LMGI)

Esteemed Location Scout Beth Tate (Twilight, Beverly Hills 90210) will receive this year’s Trailblazer Award from the Location Managers Guild International (LMGI) at the 10th Annual LMGI Awards on Saturday, August 26, 2023, at The Eli and Edythe Broad Stage in Santa Monica.

Tate is being honored for her trailblazing work in the inception, formation, and continued support of the Location Managers Guild International as it celebrates its 20th Anniversary and the 10th Anniversary of the LMGI Awards, as well as her stellar location scouting career. The announcement was made by LMGI Awards Committee Chairs John Rakich, LMGI President, and Robin Citrin, Supervising Location Manager.

“The LMGI is extremely honored to recognize Beth Tate as one of its founding forces. She has been supporting location professionals over the past two decades and is most deserving to be recoginized with this year’s LMGI Trailblazer Award,” said Rakich and Citrin.

The concept of the LMGI evolved out of the photography exhibit, “In the Zone: Los Angeles through the Eyes of Location Scouts,” that Tate co-produced to educate the Hollywood community about what location professionals do and their significant role in production. The successful exhibit became the launching pad for what would later become the LMGI, and the Guild was incorporated in 2003. Beth spent the next ten years building the membership, creating the Guild’s website, and producing one of the production industry’s first cell phone apps, a resource guide of location vendors.

Tate also worked as a line producer, production manager and location manager in a time when few women held those positions. She studied film at the University of Texas and was hired by the local PBS affiliate in Electrical, Sound and Set Decoration. She later worked as an electrician on the beloved Norman Lear show, All in the Family.

During these years, Tate began to make her own films, including China Lake, which garnered major attention, thrusting Beth into the studio system. She has worked on numerous films for filmmakers David Giler, Sam Peckinpah, William Friedkin, Michael Tolkin, Danny DeVito, Danny Boyle, and Stuart Cornfeld, among many others.

The LMGI Trailblazer Award recognizes an individual whose efforts and innovations elevate the status of location professionals. The LMGI Awards honor the creative visual contributions by location professionals in film, television, and commercials from around the globe.

Outstanding Location Awards are presented in the following categories: Contemporary Film, Period Film, Contemporary TV, Period TV, TV Serial Program/ Anthology/Limited Series, Commercials, and Film Commissions. In addition to the Trailblazer Award, honorary Awards include the Humanitarian, Lifetime Achievement, and Eva Monley Award.

The LMGI Awards are proudly sponsored by Title: Studio Air Conditioning; Gold: Directors Guild of Canada, British Columbia; Directors Guild of Canada, Ontario; Film Liaisons in California Statewide (FLICS), Honolulu Film Office, ON-SET Disposals, Pacific Production Services, Pacific Traffic Control, Riverside County Film Commission, Teamsters Local 399, Trilith Studios; Silver: San Antonio Film Commission; Bronze: Inland Empire Film Services, Menifee Film Office, Savannah Regional Film Commission.

For information about the LMGI, visit or contact Erika Howard at [email protected]. For LMGI sponsorship opportunities, please contact Carol Skeldon at [email protected]. This year’s awards are produced by Erick Weiss, Honeysweet Creative, and IngleDodd Media and written by Shelly Goldstein.

For social media information about #LMGI and the #LMGIawards, follow the LMGI on Facebook (@TheLMGI), Instagram (@locationmanagersguild), and Twitter (@TheLMGI).

- Advertisment -


Beastie Boys

EMMY WATCH 2020: The Sound for the Beastie Boys Story Doc

The original experimental punk, hip hop, rap rock, alternative band of best friends Adam “MCA” Yauch, Michael “Mike D” Diamond, and Adam “Ad-Rock” Horovitz, better...