Wednesday, May 29, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsBMI Awards Top Composers at 37th Annual BMI Film, TV & Visual...

BMI Awards Top Composers at 37th Annual BMI Film, TV & Visual Media Awards



On Monday, July 12, BMI (aka the Broadcast Music, Inc.) awarded the recipients of its 37th Annual Film, TV & Visual Media Awards, saluting the top-performing composers in film, TV and visual media of the previous year.

Atli Örvarsson, Mark Isham and Mark Mothersbaugh each received multiple awards, and this year’s awards introduced three new categories for streaming documentary, film festival and streaming film. Other composers honored included James Newton Howard, Ludwig Göransson, Nathan BarrThomas Newman, and others.

Icelandic composer Atli Örvarsson received his 29th BMI Award, while receiving the most awards this year — six — for his work on the popular NBC franchises Chicago P.D., Chicago Med, and Chicago Fire, as well as the CBS crime dramas FBI and FBI: Most Wanted, and the new Apple TV+ crime series Defending Jacob.

Mothersbaugh added five BMI Awards to his growing list for his work on the Bravo crime series Dirty John, the FX comedy-horror series What We Do in the Shadows, The Willoughbys, The Croods: A New Age, and the popular Netflix docuseries Tiger King

Mark Isham earned four crystals this year for his work on the blockbuster Judas and the Black Messiah, the action-thriller Honest Thief, the Hulu drama series Little Fires Everywhere, and the Disney+ film Togo.

Atticus Ross followed a year winning an Oscar, a Golden Globe and a BAFTA Award for his Original Score for Pixar’s Soul, along with Trent Reznor and Jon Batiste, accepted a BMI crystal recognizing his Academy Award. R&B songstress H.E.R., singer/songwriter Tiara Thomas and songwriter/producer D’Mile were similarly honored with a BMI Film Award for their own Academy Award-winning song “Fight For You” from Judas and the Black Messiah.

BMI’s Vice President, Creative, Film, TV & Visual Media Natalie Baartz said in a statement, “We’re incredibly proud to honor BMI’s exceptional composers and celebrate their outstanding musical contributions that have elevated the year’s most popular films, series and other streaming media to new creative heights. We’re thrilled to honor their unique artistry and vision, which have truly made a meaningful and memorable impact around the world. Congratulations to all of our award winners, and we look forward to celebrating together in person next year.”

You can view the complete list of winners, listen to some of their scores and watch exclusive videos at

- Advertisment -


Joe B

Sound Editors Joe Beshenkovsky, Bobby Mackston, and Matt Temple on How...

George Carlin is one of the greatest stand-up comedians in American history, and thanks to co-directors Judd Apatow and Michael Bonfiglio, audiences get a revelatory...

Beowulf and 3-D