Saturday, June 15, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsBlockbuster Composer Brian Tyler Named BMI Icon as Women Warriors Team Wins...

Blockbuster Composer Brian Tyler Named BMI Icon as Women Warriors Team Wins Impact Award


Brian Tyler
Image via BMI

Broadcast Music, Inc. recently held its 38th Annual BMI Film, TV and Visual Media Awards to celebrate the top-performing composers of the past year. The private ceremony was hosted by BMI President/CEO Mike O’Neill, EVP of Creative and Licensing Mike Steinberg, and SVP of Creative Alex Flores.

The highest honor of the evening went to renowned composer Brian Tyler, who was named a BMI Icon for his exceptional body of work and phenomenal success as a composer, orchestral conductor, and music producer.

O’Neill presented Tyler with the BMI Icon accolade, noting that he truly defines the term “rock-star composer.” “Your outstanding music and unique artistry enrich the emotion and stories of the films and shows we love to immerse ourselves in. Thank you for always elevating our experience and for sharing your singular creative vision with all of us,” O’Neill told Tyler.

A video tribute followed, in which some of Tyler’s peers including Justin Baldoni, Jon M. Chu, DJ Caruso, Taylor Sheridan, Sylvester Stallone, and others shared their experiences with the esteemed composer. As he accepted the honor, Tyler thanked BMI and said, “I will look back on this as one of the highlights of my life. It is a privilege to be among you talented and incredible human beings to receive this honor.”

Tyler is among the top 10 highest-grossing film composers of all-time, scoring more than 100 films including box office hits such as Avengers: Age of Ultron, the Fast and Furious franchise, Iron Man 3, Thor: The Dark World, Rambo, Charlie’s Angels, Scream, and Crazy Rich Asians. Meanwhile, his television credits include 1883, Yellowstone, Scorpion, Magnum PI, Hawaii Five-0, Sleepy Hollow, and Transformers: Prime.

Throughout his career, Tyler has amassed numerous accolades including 38 BMI Awards, three Emmy Award nominations, and 12 GoldSpirit Awards, including Composer of the Year. He is also a skilled orchestral conductor and multi-instrumentalist and has conducted symphonic concerts around the globe. Tyler joins a prestigious list of BMI Icon Award recipients including John Williams, Alan Silvestri, Alexandre Desplat, Mike Post, James Newton Howard, and Terence Blanchard.

Women Warriors BMI
Image via BMI

Additionally, the BMI Impact Award was presented to BMI composers Amy Andersson, Miriam Cutler, Isolde Fair, Penka Kouneva, Starr Parodi, and Lolita Ritmanis in recognition of their profound work on Women Warriors: The Voices of Change.

O’Neill and Alison Smith, BMI’s EVP of Distribution, Publisher Relations & Administration Services, presented the BMI Impact Award to BMI composers Andersson, Cutler, Fair, Kouneva, Parodi, and Ritmanis in recognition of their groundbreaking artistry, creative vision, and impact on the future of music with Women Warriors: The Voices of Change. The documentary film honors some of the world’s most compelling female activists from around the globe and has received a Hollywood Music in Media Award, Anthem Awards, and awards for Best Composer or Best Original Score at the Independent Film Awards in Berlin, Chicago, New York and Toronto. The album also won a Grammy for Best Classical Compendium.

“As BMI composers and lyricists, we accept this Impact Award with deep honor and a sense of accomplishment and pride,” said Andersson, who created the project, while Parodi added that “Women Warriors was born from a dream and from the deep desire to pay tribute and honor these women whose shoulders we stand on.”

Many other prominent composers were also saluted throughout the ceremony for music featured in the past year’s top-grossing films, top-rated network television series, and highest-ranking cable network and streamed media programs. Some of the night’s multiple award winners included James Newton Howard, Blake Neely, Thomas Newman, Atli Örvarsson, Mac Quayle, Carlos Rafael Rivera, Atticus Ross and Tyler. The evening also celebrated 18 first-time award recipients including Awkwafina, Nicholas Britell, Nick Chuba, Daniel Davies, Keegan Dewitt, Jermaine Stegall, Tamar-kali, and Jessica Rose Weiss. For a complete list of winners, as well as information on BMI’s film and television composers and events, click here.

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.