Monday, June 24, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsCDG Announces Awards Nominees

CDG Announces Awards Nominees


The Costume Designers Guild announced the nominees for its 15th annual awards ceremony, scheduled for Feb. 19, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

In addition to the guild’s seven competitive awards, Anne Hathaway will receive the LACOSTE Spotlight award. Lorne Michaels will receive the distinguished collaborator award, and career achievement awards will be presented to costume designers Judianna Makovsky and Eduardo Castro for their work in film and television.

“We are looking forward to celebrating the 15th Anniversary of the Costume Designers Guild Awards this year. Since the first CDG Awards in 1999, we have watched the event grow from a small ceremony into a fabulous gala at which some of the most esteemed celebrities, directors and producers in the industry gather to celebrate the talent and arduous work of costume designers,” said Mary Rose, president of the Costume Designers Guild, Local #892.

The nominees are:

Excellence in Contemporary Film

Beasts of the Southern Wild – Stephani Lewis
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel – Louise Stjernsward
Silver Linings Playbook – Mark Bridges
Skyfall – Jany Temime
Zero Dark Thirty – George L. Little

Excellence in Period Film

Anna Karenina – Jacqueline Durran
Argo – Jacqueline West
Les Misérables – Paco Delgado
Lincoln – Joanna Johnston
Moonrise Kingdom – Kasia Walicka-Maimone

Excellence in Fantasy Film

Cloud Atlas – Kym Barrett, Pierre-Yves Gayraud
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Ann Maskrey, Richard Taylor, Bob Buck
The Hunger Games – Judianna Makovsky
Mirror Mirror – Eiko Ishioka
Snow White and the Huntsman – Colleen Atwood

Outstanding Contemporary Television Series

Girls – Jennifer Rogien
Nashville – Susie DeSanto
Revenge – Jill Ohanneson
Smash – Molly Maginnis
Treme – Alonzo Wilson, Costume Designer. Ann Walters, co-Costume Designer

Outstanding Period/Fantasy Television Series

Boardwalk Empire – John Dunn, Lisa Padovani
Downton Abbey – Caroline McCall
Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton

Outstanding Made For Television Movie Or Mini Series

American Horror Story: Asylum, Season 2 – Lou Eyrich
Hatfields & McCoys – Karri Hutchinson
Hemingway & Gellhorn – Ruth Myers

Excellence In Commercial Costume Design

Capital One: Couture – Roseanne Fiedler
Captain Morgan Black – Judianna Makovsky
Dos Equis: Most Interesting Man in the World – Julie Vogel

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D