Sunday, July 14, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsCDG Hosts 14th Annual Awards

CDG Hosts 14th Annual Awards


The costume designers and the glamorous darlings they dress enjoyed a colorful night out at the 14th annual Costume Designers Guild awards held last night at the Beverly Hilton. The ever effervescent Jane Lynch hosted the event celebrating the collaboration between costume designers and directors and actors. On the red carpet, Lynch, draped in a fire engine red David Meister gown, revealed what she was looking forward to the most during the evening’s festivities. “I’m most excited about honoring Lou Eyrich [Glee’s costume designer and the recipient of the Guild’s career achievement in television award]. Lou is one of the nicest, most heartfelt people I’ve ever met, and the most talented,” Lynch said zealously, jangling an arm full of silver bracelets.

Indeed, it was quiet a night for Eyrich, who not only received the career achievement in television award, but also won in the outstanding contemporary television series category for her work in Glee alongside her co-costume designer Jennifer Eve. Wearing a bright pink bejeweled gown with diamond patterns that brought to mind images of Marrekesh and bubblegum and sporting a wispy boyish haircut, the accomplished Eyrich resembled a graceful pixie as she fought back tears accepting her award.

Sentiments were flying high among those that were recognized for their commendable contributions. Jany Temine, the costume designer for Harry Potter and the Deathly Gallows: Part II, discussed with me what was the best part about having worked on the film series. “My favorite thing was to see the kids growing from children to teenagers, and to finish [the film series] as family. It’s a great project that has become iconic and has had such an impact. I am extremely proud.” Temine took home the award for excellence in fantasy film wearing a dark velvet jacket of her own design that was a mixture of wizardly and Victorian over a black Temperley dress.

Designer Deborah Hopper and actor/director Clint Eastwood pose with their distinguished collaborator award. (Photo by Christopher Polk/Getty Images).
Mark Bridges, whose design in The Artist was nominated for the excellence in period film category arrived in a dapper 1920s inspired tuxedo and a cream hued shirt of his own design featuring embossed patterns that appeared like strips of film. “My favorite thing [about working on The Artist] is that it was made in LA [with filmmakers who were all from France]. It’s a love letter to Hollywood, to my beloved LA.”

Cameron Silver, the creative force who has been named one of Time Magazine’s “25 Influential Names and Faces in Fashion” wandered the red carpet with Christos Garkinos, owner of Decades, the premier vintage destination in Los Angeles and Ashley Madekwe, star of the television series Revenge. Silver charmingly stopped by the Below the Line outlet just to send his approval of my own frock, a canary yellow diaphanous silk chiffon gown with a sheer jeweled neckline.

Revenge was everywhere as many of the faces on the show were in attendance. Jill Ohanneson, the show’s costume designer was nominated in the outstanding contemporary television series category. Besides Ashley Madekwe, Madeleine Stowe, Gabriel Mann and Christa B. Allen added to the glamorous and well-dressed. Amber Valleta, who guest starred on the show was also on hand to present the Disaronno career achievement in film award to costume designer Marlene Stewart who has been populating America cinema with her designs for over two decades.

Designer Lou Eyrich received the award for career achievement in television. (Photo by Christopher Polk/Getty Images).
The Guild’s distinguished collaborator award went to Clint Eastwood and Deborah Hopper. A fitting choice, since the honorees have worked on 20 films together in the last 28 years. Ken Watanabe, the star of Eastwood’s Letters from Iwo Jima made a surprise appearance at the event to present the award. Eastwood warmly accepted the honor, dismissing the auteur theory and attributed his films to the work of many. “Motion pictures are an ensemble thing, a platoon, a group of people working together.” Kate Beckinsale, who received the Lacoste Spotlight award agreed with Eastwood. She called herself simply “lucky” to have been guided by so many costume designers who helped her shape the characters she portrayed.

The ceremony was beautifully dedicated to highlight costume design: an essential key for a character to exist and for the story to be told. Eastwood summed up the night most aptly, “Everyone said that the Costume Designers Ball is among the best and it is.”

The winners of the 14th Annual Costume Designers Guild awards are:

Excellence in Contemporary Film
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – Trish Summerville

Excellence in Period Film
W.E. – Arianne Phillips

Excellence in Fantasy Film
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 – Jany Temime

Outstanding Contemporary Television Series
Glee – Lou Eyrich & Jennifer Eve

Outstanding Period/Fantasy Television Series
Boardwalk Empire – John A. Dunn, Lisa Padovani

Outstanding Made For Television Movie or Mini Series
Downtown Abbey – Susannah Buxton

Excellence in Commercial Costume Design
Swiffer: “Country Dirt Cowgirl” – Roseanne Fiedler

Lacoste Spotlight Award
Kate Beckinsale

Distinguised Collaborator Award
Clint Eastwood Distinguished Collaborator with Costume Designer Deborah Hopper

Disaronno Career Achievement in Film Award
Marlene Stewart

Career Achievement in Television Award
Lou Eyrich

- Advertisment -


Beau Borders

Contender Profile: The Greyhound Sound Team on Creating Authentic 1940s Sounds...

“And the Oscar goes to,” is a familiar phrase we anticipate hearing each year in the 93-year history of the Academy Awards. This year,...