Wednesday, May 29, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsHollywood Post Alliance Award Winners Announced

Hollywood Post Alliance Award Winners Announced


The Hollywood Post Alliance presented the sixth annual HPA Awards to a sold out audience of industry insiders and luminaries at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles. Individuals were honored in 12 creative categories as well as a number of special awards for engineering excellence, lifetime achievement and creativity and innovation, which had been announced earlier. The HPA Awards honor the best of the best talent working behind the scenes in motion pictures, television and commercials as well as the most innovative technologies in post.

The winners of the 2011 Hollywood Post Alliance Awards are:

Outstanding Color Grading using a DI process – Feature Film
The Help
Steven J. Scott – EFILM

Outstanding Color Grading – Television
Mad Men – Blowing Smoke
Tim Vincent – LaserPacific

Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial
Nissan “Zero”
Siggy Ferstl – Company 3

Outstanding Editing – Feature Film
The Social Network
Angus Wall, A.C.E. and Kirk Baxter, A.C.E.

Outstanding Editing – Television
Downton Abbey – Series 1 Episode 1
John Wilson, A.C.E. – Carnival Film & Television

Outstanding Editing – Commercial
American Express “Curtain”
Chris Franklin – Big Sky Editorial

Outstanding Sound – Feature Film
Green Lantern
John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Rick Kline – Warner Bros. Post Production Services
Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers – Soundelux

Outstanding Sound – Television
House – Bombshells
Brad North, Joe DeAngelis, Luis Galdames and Jackie Oster – Universal Studios Sound

Outstanding Sound – Commercial
Dream House “Trailer #1”
David Brolin – Universal Studios Sound
Bill Neil – Buddha Jones Trailers

Outstanding Compositing – Feature Film
Transformers: Dark of the Moon
Jeff Sutherland, Jason Billington, Chris Balog and Ben O’Brien – Industrial Light & Magic

Outstanding Compositing – Television
Boardwalk Empire – Boardwalk Empire
Paul Graff, Brian Sales, Merysa Nichols and Jesse Siglow – Crazy Horse Effects, Inc.

A number of special awards, which had been announced earlier, were bestowed during the evening including:

Lifetime Achievement Award
Cyril Drabinsky, President and CEO of Deluxe Entertainment Services Group Inc.

Engineering Excellence Award:

  • Dolby Laboratories – Professional Reference Monitor
  • Sony Professional Solutions of America – OLED Monitor
  • Lightcraft Technology – Previzion
  • IBM – Linear Tape File System

Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation

  • Testronic Labs – File-Based QC Lab
  • Steven J. Scott of EFILM – “Tree of Life” DI Environment

The HPA Awards were created to foster awareness of postproduction, promote creative and technical excellence, recognize the achievements of postproduction talent, and build involvement in the Hollywood Post Alliance.

- Advertisment -


Joe B

Sound Editors Joe Beshenkovsky, Bobby Mackston, and Matt Temple on How...

George Carlin is one of the greatest stand-up comedians in American history, and thanks to co-directors Judd Apatow and Michael Bonfiglio, audiences get a revelatory...

Beowulf and 3-D