Saturday, July 20, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeCraftsCameraJanusz Kamiński, Stephen Lighthill, ASC, To Be Honored by International Cinematographers Guild...

Janusz Kamiński, Stephen Lighthill, ASC, To Be Honored by International Cinematographers Guild As Special Awards Recipients


Janusz Kaminski (photo by Chris Pizzello-Invisio, courtesy ICG)

The International Cinematographers Guild (ICG, IATSE Local 600) today announced its two special award recipients for the 25th Annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards (ECA).

Cinematographer/director Janusz Kamiński will be honored with the Distinguished Filmmaker Award, presented by Panavision Family of Companies, while Cinematographer Stephen Lighthill, ASC, will accept the ASC Mentor Award.

“We’re delighted to award two of the most influential film artists and practitioners of our craft at this year’s ECA ceremony,” says ECA Chairs Steven Poster, ASC and Jimmy Matlosz in a joint statement.

Janusz Kamiński is an Oscar® winning cinematographer and director. He has worked as Steven Spielberg‘s director of photography since 1993. Kamiński won the Academy Award for Best Cinematography for his work on Spielberg film’s Schindler’s List and Saving Private Ryan. Kamiński also received four Academy Award nominations, five BAFTA Awards and six American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Award nominations. Kamiński also directs films and TV series.

Stephen Lighthill, ASC in 2020 (photo by Michael Pessah, ASC, courtesy ICG)

Stephen Lighthill, ASC began his career shooting network news and documentaries, including the Oscar®-nominated documentary Berkeley, Gimme Shelter, and CBS 60 Minutes. His credits include HBO’s Vietnam War Story, NBC’s Earth 2, and CBS’s Nash Bridges. In recent years, he returned to documentaries with Boffo! Tinseltown’s Bombs and Blockbusters and Caregivers: The Alzheimer’s Project.

Lighthill received the Deluxe “Bud Stone” Award for Outstanding Educational Contributions to the Art and Craft of Cinematography from the ICG Emerging Cinematographer Awards in 2010, and the SMPTE Kodak Education Award for Outstanding Contributions in Film Production Education.

Lighthill has served as a president of the ASC and is currently Head of Discipline: Cinematography at the American Film Institute (AFI) Conservatory.

The ECA showcase event takes place Sunday, Oct. 1 at the Television Academy’s Saban Media Center Wolf Theater in North Hollywood. Lighthill, ASC, will be accepting the ASC Mentor Award on Friday, Sep. 29 at the ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood.

In addition to these awards, ICG announced eight honorees earlier this summer. The eight winning filmmakers, selected from 106 nationwide submissions, are ((Name, Film Title):

Petros Antoniadis, Camera Operator – Flickering Souls Set Alight
Connor Van Bodell, Film Loader – Nisei
Drew Dawson, Camera Operator – For Those Who Don’t Know How
Edward Guinn, Camera Operator – TORN
Brook Lee Karner, Digital Utility – The Coop
Grant MacAllister, Camera Operator – Blood Positive
Sarah Anne Pierpont, Camera Operator – Juliet
Yusuke Sato, 1st Assistant – White Now Please

Panavision Family of Companies holds the top sponsorship position as the Premier level sponsor. Other Sponsors include: Silver: Creamsource, Universal Production Services; Bronze: ARRI, BandPro, Fujifilm, Hawk Anamorphic Los Angeles LP, J.L. Fisher, Inc.; Additional Partners: American Society of Cinematographers, CA Film Institute, Cinegear Expo, Creative Handbook, DF Studio, Fourth Dimension, ICG Magazine, Picture Shop, Production Hub, SHOOT, Variety and The Hollywood Reporter.


The International Cinematographers Guild represents over 10,000 members who work in film, television, streaming and commercials as directors of photography, camera operators, digital imaging technicians, visual effects supervisors, still photographers, camera assistants, film loaders, broadcasters and all members of camera crews and publicists. The first cinematographers union was established in New York in 1926, followed by unions in Los Angeles and Chicago. In 1996, Local 600 united as a national guild. In addition to its work organizing, bargaining and enforcing contracts and advocating for legislation that serves working families, training and mentorship, ICG’s ongoing events include the Emerging Cinematographer Awards and the ICG Publicists Awards Luncheon. The Guild also publishes the award-winning ICG Magazine.

- Advertisment -


Beastie Boys

EMMY WATCH 2020: The Sound for the Beastie Boys Story Doc

The original experimental punk, hip hop, rap rock, alternative band of best friends Adam “MCA” Yauch, Michael “Mike D” Diamond, and Adam “Ad-Rock” Horovitz, better...