Sunday, May 19, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsVoice Actors Kelly Stables, David Cowgill Hosting 68th Annual MPSE Golden Reel...

Voice Actors Kelly Stables, David Cowgill Hosting 68th Annual MPSE Golden Reel Awards


Motion Picture Sound EditorsThe Motion Picture Sound Editors (MPSE) has announced that acclaimed voice actors Kelly Stables and David Cowgill will host the 68th Annual MPSE Golden Reel Awards, taking place as an all-virtual awards ceremony on Friday, April 16, at 6pm Pacific.

Stables and Cowgill will be joined by presenters from around the world in honoring outstanding achievement in sound editing across 22 categories, spanning motion pictures, television, animation, computer entertainment, and student work.

Tickets may be purchased at

MPSE President Mark Lanza said, “We are thrilled to have Kelly and David as hosts for this year’s Golden Reel Awards. As voice actors, they have unique insight into the world of entertainment sound. They will lend humor and excitement to a special night as we celebrate our craft.”

Stables’ voice work includes the children’s series Doc McStuffinsSofia the First, and Adventures in Odyssey. She has appeared on-camera in SuperstoreTwo and a Half MenRomantically Challenged, and The Exes. Cowgill has lent his voice to hundreds of films and television shows including Frozen II, The Angry Birds Movie 2A Very Sordid WeddingHotel Transylvania 2, and Minions.

Kelly Stables (L), David Cowgill (R) (Photo courtesy MPSE)

“This year’s Golden Reels Awards will be especially memorable,” says Stables. “Throughout the challenges of the past year, sound artists have continued to put their hearts and souls into projects across all forms of entertainment media. It’s wonderful to take part in honoring their commitment.”

Cowgill promises that the virtual ceremony will be full of laughs and surprises, noting, “The virtual format allows us to bring people together from across the globe. It’s going to be a great time. I can’t wait.”

Because of the virtual nature of the awards, individual awards will be presented by accomplished sound professionals appearing from Australia, China, Mexico, India, Russia, and Southern California.

They will include:

Australia: Animation & Documentary

Wayne Pashley (Supervising Sound Editor)

Libby Villa (Supervising Sound Editor)

Derryn Pasquill (Supervising Dialogue/ADR Editor)

China: Computer, Non-Theatrical & Foreign Feature

Jianxi Zhang (Post Sound Coordinator)

Yang Jiang (Supervising Sound Editor)

Zhao Nan (Supervising Sound Editor)

Mexico: Live Action Short & Broadcast Media Episodic Short Form

Jaime Baksht (Re-Recording Mixer)

Michelle Couttolenc (Re-Recording Mixer)

Javier Umpierrez (Supervising Sound Editor)

Los Angeles (UCLA): Student Filmmaker

Brian Slack (Senior Manager/Professional Audio, DTS/Xperi, Re-Recording Mixer/Engineer)

Bernard Weiser (Supervising Sound Editor)

Nancy Cartwright (Voice Actress)

India: Single Presentation & Broadcast Media Episodic Long Form

Baylon Fonseca (Supervising Sound Editor)

Karan Singh (Supervising Foley Editor/Artist)

Vijay Rathinam (Supervising Sound Editor)

Russia: Feature Film

Aleksey Sinitsyn (Supervising Sound Editor)

Dmitriy Kliminov (Re-Recording Mixer)

- Advertisment -


SISU Cinema Robotics Announces SISU Battery Box for Robotic Camera Equipment

SISU Cinema Robotics has been transforming the landscape of robotic camera equipment by introducing user-friendly cinema technology designed to keep pace with the demands...

Beowulf and 3-D