Monday, April 15, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsLocation Manager Vet Patricia Fay Will Receive LMGI's Trailblazer Award on Oct....

Location Manager Vet Patricia Fay Will Receive LMGI’s Trailblazer Award on Oct. 23


Patricia Fay
Patricia Fay (Photo: LMGI)

Patricia Fay, who spent many years traveling the country by trains, planes snowmobiles and whatever it took as a location manager until her retirement in 2000, will receive the esteemed Trailblazer Award from the Location Managers Guild International (LMGI) at the 8th Annual LMGI Awards to be held on Saturday, October 23 at 2:00 pm PDT in a virtual ceremony. The LMGI Trailblazer Award recognizes an individual whose efforts and innovations elevate the status of location professionals.

The awards celebration will be free to stream, but you must REGISTER at  registration is required at Eventbrite.

John Rakich, LMGI President and Awards Committee Chair, said, “During her years of location scouting, Patricia was a true trailblazer, a treasured member of our location community and is well-deserving of this honor.”

Patricia worked for many Hollywood studios including Universal, Warner Bros., Columbia, and Amblin on some 31 movies. She started her career as spokeswoman for the Bank of Alaska, but much preferred being part of the crew and not in front of the camera. Based in Seattle, she worked on a number of commercials and movies before being called to South Carolina to work on Dino DeLaurentis’s Firestarter. She accepted this first out-of-state gig because her four children were now old enough to be in high school. Her last film before retirement was The Patriot. Favorite movie? Steven Spielberg’s Always, filmed in Montana.

The theme of this year’s program is “Celebrate the Where.” Actor and director Isaiah Mustafa will return to host the 8th Annual LMGI Awards which honor the outstanding and creative visual contributions by location professionals in film, television and commercials from around the globe. The LMGI Awards also recognize outstanding service by film commissions for their support “above and beyond” during the production process. This year’s show will be produced by Erick Weiss, Honeysweet Creative, and IngleDodd Media and written by Shelly Goldstein.

Previous LMGI Trailblazer honorees have included talents such as Spike Lee, Michael J. Meehan, Josh Karan, Steve Dayan, and Sheri Davis.

The LMGI Awards are proudly sponsored by Platinum: Ontario Creates, Riverside County Film Commission, Studio Air Conditioning; Gold: Honolulu Film Office, Trilith Studios, William F. White International; Silver: Cherokee Nation Film Office, Film US Virgin Islands, Fresco Film – Spain & Portugal, Hollywood Locations, Los Angeles Center Studios, ON-SET Disposals, Reel Estate Partners, Teamsters Local 399, Zio Studio Services; Bronze: Cinespace Film Studios, City of Toronto, Classic Tents & Events, Cool Locations Supply, Inc., Directors Guild of Canada, British Columbia, HBO | HBO Max, Inland Empire Film Services, Pacific Production Services, Pacific Traffic Control, Premier Event Tent Rental, Production Security Services, Savannah Regional Film Commission, Sunset; Media Sponsors: The Location Guide, SHOOT, Variety.

- Advertisment -


Beowulf and 3-D

By Henry Turner Beowulf in 3D is a unique experience, raising not just questions about future of cinema, but also posing unique problems that the...