Wednesday, June 19, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsPublicists for Gravity and American Horror Story Recognized by Their Peers

Publicists for Gravity and American Horror Story Recognized by Their Peers


Steven Poster, called for a moment of silence to in memory of second assistant camerawoman Sarah Jones.
Steven Poster, called for a moment of silence to in memory of second assistant camerawoman Sarah Jones.
Hollywood’s spinmeisters gathered to praise and give props to their own last Friday at the 51st Annual International Cinematographers Guild (ICG) Publicists Awards at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel. Top feature film honors went to the Gravity publicity team at Warner Bros. that promoted the international box-office smash, and in the television category, to the publicist that ballyhooed American Horror Story: Coven, the FX ratings hit.

Comic legend Jerry Lewis, who turns 88 on March 16, was hale and hearty in a rare public appearance as he accepted the organization’s Lifetime Achievement Award from Carol Burnett. “I’m humbled by this and humble isn’t a word you hear too often with my name,” he joked in brief remarks.

At the start of the ceremony, Steven Poster, president of ICG/IATSE Local 600, which the publicists union is part of, called for a moment of silence in memory of second assistant camerawoman Sarah Jones, a member of the guild, who died last week in an accident on a shoot in Georgia. “Sarah was a much-loved member of the International Cinematographers Guild family,” Poster added.

Linda Bell Blue, president of Entertainment Tonight Studios received the President’s Award, presented to her by Poster. This year’s winner of the Les Mason Award, the highest honor publicists give out to one of their peers, went to Michael Singer, vice president of marketing and publicity at Jerry Bruckheimer Films.

Jerry Lewis
Jerry Lewis
Rob Friedman and Patrick Wachsberger, co-chairs of Lionsgate Motion Picture Group, were presented the Motion Picture Showmanship Award.  And Shonda Rhimes, creator, writer and producer of Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice and Scandal got the Television Showmanship Award.

The excellence in still photography for motion pictures award went to Peter Fountain and Michael Yarish received the television still photography award.  And two awards were handed out for media coverage: Scott Mantz, film reviewer for Access Hollywood won the press award, and Phil Berk received the international media award.

The members of the Gravity team that won what is officially known as the Maxwell Weinberg Award for Best Publicity Campaign for a Motion Picture included Jade Alex, Sharon Black, Cecilia Calderon, Mark Capaldi, Deva Cervera, Julie Cole, Melissa Crow, Justine Gamez, Mary Hunter, Kimberly Lerner, Jesse Mesa, Maureen O’Malley, Paulette Osorio, Emily Patt, Orna Pickens, Susan Shapiro, Gina Soliz and Lisa Stone. The Maxwell Weinberg Television Campaign Award went to American Horror Story publicist Mathew Mitchell.

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D