Saturday, July 20, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeGearSmallHD Awarded with 2023 Engineering, Science & Technology Emmy from Television Academy

SmallHD Awarded with 2023 Engineering, Science & Technology Emmy from Television Academy


Photo courtesy SmallHD

SmallHD has announced that its innovative monitor platform has been awarded a 2023 Engineering, Science & Technology Emmy® from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS). This prestigious accolade recognizes SmallHD’s significant contributions to advancing the television industry through its exceptional engineering, scientific achievements, and technological breakthroughs.

Receiving the Emmy for the SmallHD team are Jeffrey Gray, Russell Hocken, Barrett Phillips, and Greg Smokler. Additional key contributions were made by Norbert Ingram, Mike Claes, Blake Johnson, and the entirety of the SmallHD research and development team.

“SmallHD has always been laser-focused on one goal: build the best possible tools for technicians and artists to monitor their creative vision,” says Greg Smokler, VP of Cine Products for Creative Solutions. “Our teams put so much love and care into every aspect of this technology, so it really is a huge honor to see that effort recognized by the Academy with this award.”

SmallHD’s monitors have become ubiquitous in the production landscape by empowering crews with unparalleled image quality, brightness, rugged durability, and universal connectivity–all powered by the intuitive PageOS software. SmallHD focuses design and ergonomics on deeply collaborative relationships with professionals on set.

SmallHD’s monitor platform features a custom architecture designed entirely in-house, which allows for continuous expansion of features and connectivity and future-proofing. From the compact on-camera Smart 5 and Smart 7 series to the 4K production monitor line, SmallHD has created a unified and cohesive series of monitors that allow for accurate and consistent viewing and color reproduction across different cameras and applications, ensuring a consistent creative vision from set to final output.

SmallHD wishes to thank the following camera people for their constant testing and constructive feedback over the years: Focus Pullers Simon England, Dan Ming, and Bob Smathers; DITs Chris Bolton, Rohan Chitraker, Lonny Danler, Steve Harnell, Jason Johnson, Ryan Nguyen, Calvin Reibman, Raul Riveros, Christian Saure, and Kyle Spicer; DPs Ed Lachman ASC, Claudio Miranda ASC, and Armando Salas ASC, and many, many others.

The Engineering, Science & Technology Emmy Award is presented to an individual, company or organization for developments in engineering, science, and technology that are either so extensive an improvement on existing methods or so innovative in nature that they materially affect the production, recording, transmission or reception of television and thereby have elevated the storytelling process.

- Advertisment -


Beastie Boys

EMMY WATCH 2020: The Sound for the Beastie Boys Story Doc

The original experimental punk, hip hop, rap rock, alternative band of best friends Adam “MCA” Yauch, Michael “Mike D” Diamond, and Adam “Ad-Rock” Horovitz, better...