Monday, April 15, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsSOC 2020 Camera Operator of the Year Honorees

SOC 2020 Camera Operator of the Year Honorees


The Society of Camera Operators (SOC) announced the awards recipients – for Camera Operator of the Year in Film is Geoff Haley, SOC and in the Television category is Jim McConkey, SOC – during the Lifetime Achievement Awards on Saturday, January 18, 2020. Hosted at the Loews Hollywood Hotel, the star-studded night was streamed live to thousands internationally while over 500 industry professionals and iconic celebrities celebrated the achievements of exceptional film makers and crews.

Geoff Haley, SOC took home the title of Camera Operator of the Year in Film for his work on the Joker. Haley topped a talented group of nominees in the film category including: Sam Ellison (A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood); Craig Haagensen, SOC (Motherless Brooklyn), David Luckenbach, SOC (Ford vs Ferrari); and Dale Myrand, SOC (Knives Out).

Camera Operator of the Year Recipient Geoff Haley, SOC behind the scenes on Joker

Jim McConkey, SOC was awarded Camera Operator of the Year in Television for his work on The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel. The TV category nominees included: Chris Cuevas (Watchmen); Mitch Dubin, SOC (Legion); Jeff Muhlstock, SOC (Mr. Robot); and Sean Savage, ACO, SOC (Game of Thrones).

Academy Award winning actress Natalie Portman was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Awards Governor’s Award and legendary actress and philanthropist Jamie Lee Curtis was recognized with the Lifetime Achievement President’s Award.

For more information visit

- Advertisment -


Beowulf and 3-D

By Henry Turner Beowulf in 3D is a unique experience, raising not just questions about future of cinema, but also posing unique problems that the...