Tuesday, April 16, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsSOC Awards

SOC Awards


Director of photography Haskell Wexler, ASC received the Governor’s Award from the Society of Camera Operators for his cinematography in both documentaries and feature films at the group’s 2007 Lifetime Achievement Awards gathering on January 20.The annual SOC event, whose members are part of IATSE Local 600, the International Cinematographers Guild, was held at the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Goldenson Theater in North Hollywood. Other honorees:The President’s Award went to Denny Clairmont, head of Clairmont Camera, who accepted on behalf of himself and his younger brother and business partner Terry Clairmont, who passed away in 2006.Norman Langley, SOC, got the Camera Operator of the Year Award.The Camera Technician Award went to Clyde E. Bryan.Thomas Prophet, Jr. received the Mobile Camera Platform Operator Award.Melinda Sue Gordon was honored with the Still Photographer Award.Camera operator and cinematographer Alexander “Sasha” Calzatti received the Historical Shot Award for his work on Yo Soy Cuba (I Am Cuba), made in 1964.The recipient of the SOC 2007 Distinguished Service Award was Tim Wade, of the ICG.Two Technical Achievement Awards were handed out to:The ARRI Group’s Franz Kraus, Volker Bahnemann, Klemens Kehrer, Walter Trauninger and the engineering team that developed the Arriflex D-20, 235 and 416 cameras. And Christain Bannert and the engineering team of Zeiss for developing the Arri/Zeiss Ultra 16, Master Prime Lenses.Howard Preston, head of Preston Camera Systems, was honored for his invention and development of the FI+Z remote Lens Control System and Light Ranger Laser Focus System.Presenters included Annette Bening; director Paul Mazursky; George Spiro Dibie, ASC, former president of the ICG; Richard Crudo, ASC, former president of the American Society of Cinematographers; Garrett Brown, inventor of the Steadicam; and outgoing SOC president David Frederick.Venue: The Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Goldenson TheaterParking: Free in the building’s easily accessible garageOpen bar: Both before and after the SOC Awards CeremonyQuality of Wine: DrinkableFood: Hors d’oeuvres, Italian fare and cheeses before the awards; yummy desserts, and coffee afterwardsAttire: Creative black-tieShow Length: 2.5 hoursHost: Bruce Carse, moderator of Below the Line’s screening seriesSwag: MinimalistHigh Point: George Spiro Dibie’s introductionLow Point: George Spiro Dibie’s introductionBest Quote of the Night: Paul Mazursky’s anecdote about director Ingmar Bergman’s long-time cinematographer Sven Nykvist, who died last year. When Nykvist was once asked whether Bergman had a sense of humor he replied: “He says he sometimes has funny nightmares.”

Written by Jack Egan

Previous article
Next article
- Advertisment -


Beowulf and 3-D

By Henry Turner Beowulf in 3D is a unique experience, raising not just questions about future of cinema, but also posing unique problems that the...