Monday, April 15, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsSOC to Honor Eastwood and Radin with Lifetime Achievement Awards

SOC to Honor Eastwood and Radin with Lifetime Achievement Awards


Clint Eastwood
The Society of Camera Operators announced the recipients of the 2012 Lifetime Achievement Awards to be held Feb. 19 at the Leonard Goldenson Theater at the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in North Hollywood, California.

The Governors award for lifetime achievement will be presented to Clint Eastwood in recognition of his lifetime of creative contributions and advancement to the art and craft of cinema.

Phil Radin, executive VP marketing, Panavision will receive the President’s award for lifetime achievement.

The lifetime achievement as camera operator award will go to Paul Babin, SOC. Beginning his credited work as a camera operator in 1987, Babin has operated on motion picture blockbusters including Terminator 2: Judgement Day, Magnolia and The Soloist as well as numerous television hits.

For lifetime achievement as camera technician, the SOC has selected Zoran Veselic. Beginning in 1979 Veselic has been the A-camera technician for many major feature films. Veselic’s credits for focus assistant include Moneyball, The Muppets, Men in Black, Spider-Man and Up in the Air.

The lifetime achievement as mobile camera platform operator goes to Harry Rez. Starting with credited work in 1973, Rez has a resume filled with successful feature films and television programs. His credits as dolly and key grip include Doogie Howser, M.D., Providence and Nashville.

Andrew Cooper, SMPSP will receive the lifetime achievement as stills photographer award. Since 1984, Cooper has built a portfolio of some of the industry’s most iconic images. His credits for motion picture still photographer include The Departed, Braveheart and War Horse.

The historical shot award will be presented to George Richmond for his handheld shot in the scene titled, The Siege of Bexhill in the feature film, Children of Men.

The SOC’s lifetime achievement award for distinguished service to the motion picture industry will be presented to Sol Negrin, ASC. This esteemed director of photography, leader of the IATSE Local 600, and SOC supporter is also a film school professor at NYU and Five Towns College. He is known for his work on Kojak, The Patty Duke Show and Coming to America. The award will be presented to Sol by his son Michael Negrin, ASC.

The SOC will present two awards for camera operator of the year. Nominees for the feature film camera operator of the year are:

Will Arnot, SOC – The Help
Stephen Campanelli, SOC – J. Edgar
Mitch Dubin, SOC – War Horse
Peter Rosenfeld, SOC – Cowboys & Aliens
P. Scott Sakamoto, SOC – The Descendants

The television camera operator of the year nominees include:

Grayson Austin, SOC – Memphis Beat
Gregory P. Collier, SOC – Bones
Simon Jayes, SOC – True Blood
Andrew Mitchell, SOC – Glee
Chris Tufty, SOC – The Closer

To recognize technical achievement the SOC will award Thales Angenieux for the Optimo 15-40, 28-76, 45-120mm family of handheld zoom lenses and Herb Ault’s Grip Trix Shadow Tracker and Tracker XL Electric Powered Camera Platforms.

The SOC holds this annual Awards event in an effort to raise funds for the Vision Center at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles. Each year the SOC donates the production of a film in conjunction with the Vision Center to help spread the word about a simple diagnostic tool to help prevent the tragedy of certain children’s eye diseases.

- Advertisment -


Brad Allan

Over the Weekend 8/9/21: Night Court‘s Markie Post Dies, The Suicide...

Unfortunately, this past weekend was one full of sadness as a number of prominent and beloved people from across our industry passed away. First up, Markie...

Beowulf and 3-D