Friday, April 19, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsSociety of Composers and Lyricists Awards Announce Winners

Society of Composers and Lyricists Awards Announce Winners


No surprise here; the Society of Composers and Lyricists (SCL) knows how to throw a party. A celebration of music should be anything but a dry affair. As expected, the Society of Composers and Lyricists Awards delivered a ceremony that kept the beat going, celebrated not only the artists nominated but also those in attendance, and paid tribute to those sadly no longer with us, such as Henry Mancini and Killers of the Flower Moon composer Robbie Robertson.

The love for film composers and songwriters was loud and clear, notably when President Ashley Irwin made it abundantly clear that AI could never accomplish what an artist with life experience can. “Art is not a formula,” Ashley said. “It’s not numbers or math. It’s emotion, it’s complex, and unique. Historically, art is a reflection of life, its triumphs and failures…. It’s a concept AI simply can’t understand, nor should it. Music is made for and by people. Once it starts being an algorithm, and not an art form, all of society loses.”

In short, well said.

Look no further than the tribute to Robertson to prove what Irwin expressed. Martin Scorsese sent in a video detailing their decades of collaboration. In attendance, the composer and rock god’s daughter, Alexandra Robertson, accepted an award in her father’s honor.

My eyes were not dry when Robertson graced the stage with strength, nor were the eyes of many in attendance. “I wrote insufficient words to express my love and gratitude,” she said. “It’s a profound honor to be here with my daughter, Angelica, representing my beloved father. The brotherhood and soul connection he shared with Marty is staggeringly beautiful. I wish my dad was here to feel how celebrated he is for their final yet timeless collaboration…. Such a rich and poetic history… Thank you for this wonderful honor.”

The love in Alexandra’s voice for her father was, similar to his work with Scorsese, staggering.

Last but not least, all praise to the ceremony’s host, singer and songwriter Siedah Garrett. Garrett’s list of accomplishments and accolades is long to list, but she did write one of the all-time great songs, not just pop songs, with “Man in the Mirror.” She sang it for the crowd. Yes, it was joyful, as was the band and the rest of the evening.

Outstanding Original Score for a Studio Film

Joe Hisaishi – “The Boy and the Heron”
Ludwig Göransson – “Oppenheimer”
Laura Karpman – “American Fiction”
Robbie Robertson – “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Anthony Willis – “Saltburn”

Outstanding Original Score for an Independent Film

Jon Batiste – “American Symphony”
Mica Levi – “The Zone of Interest”
Fabrizio Mancinelli, Richard M. Sherman – “Mushka”
Daniel Pemberton – “Ferrari”
John Powell – “Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie”

Outstanding Original Score for a Television Production

Nicholas Britell – “Succession”
Natalie Holt – “Loki”
Martin Phipps – “The Crown”
Carlos Rafael Rivera – “Lessons in Chemistry”
Gustavo Santaolalla – “The Last of Us”

Outstanding Original Title Sequence for a Television Production

Chanda Dancy – “Lawmen: Bass Reeves”
Nainita Desai – “The Deepest Breath”
Kevin Kiner – “Ahsoka”
Atli Örvarsson – “Silo”
Carlos Rafael Rivera – “Lessons in Chemistry”

Outstanding Original Song for a Dramatic or Documentary Visual Media Production

Jon Batiste, Dan Wilson- “It Never Went Away” – “American Symphony”
Nicholas Britell, Taura Stinson – “Slip Away” – “Carmen”
Sharon Farber, Noah Benshea – “Better Times” – “Jacob the Baker”
Lenny Kravitz – “Road to Freedom” – “Rustin”
Olivia Rodrigo, Dan Nigro – “Can’t Catch Me Now” – “The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes”

Outstanding Original Song for a Comedy or Musical Visual Media Production

Jack Black, John Spiker, Eric Osmond, Michael Jelenic, Aaron Horvath – “Peaches” – “The Super Mario Bros Movie”
Heather McIntosh, Allyson Newman, Taura Stinson – “All About Me” – “The L Word: Generation Q”
Billie Eilish O’Connell, Finneas O’Connell – “What Was I Made For?” – “Barbie”
Mark Ronson, Andrew Wyatt – “I’m Just Ken” – “Barbie”
Diane Warren – “The Fire Inside” – “Flamin’ Hot”

Outstanding Original Score for Interactive Media

Stephan Barton, Gordy Haab – “Star Wars Jedi: Survivor”
Winifred Phillips – “Secrets of Skeifa Island”
Pinar Toprak – “Avatar: Frontiers of Pandora”
Austin Wintory – “Stray Gods”

The David Raksin Award for Emerging Talent

Catherine Joy – “Home is a Hotel”
Fabrizio Mancinelli – “The Land of Dreams”
Allyson Newman – “Commitment to Life”
Hannah Parrott – “After Death”
Kenny Wood – “The Naughty Nine”

- Advertisment -


Beowulf and 3-D

By Henry Turner Beowulf in 3D is a unique experience, raising not just questions about future of cinema, but also posing unique problems that the...