Saturday, May 18, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsTaylor Hackford To Receive Filmmaker Award From Cinema Audio Society ...

Taylor Hackford To Receive Filmmaker Award From Cinema Audio Society


Academy Award winning feature film and documentary director Taylor Hackford will receive the CAS Filmmaker Award at the 47th CAS Awards on Feb. 19, 2011 at the Crystal Ballroom of the Millennium-Biltmore Hotel, Los Angeles.

Taylor Hackford
Taylor Hackford

“The Cinema Audio Society is thrilled to be honoring the talented producer-director-writer, Hackford as this year’s Filmmaker Recipient.  Taylor has demonstrated time and time again his ability to go from dialogue to action to music with a respect for sound always uppermost in his process.  Once again we are delighted to have synergy between our Career Achievement Recipient, Jeffrey S. Wexler, CAS and our Filmmaker Honoree through their collaborations on the Oscar-winning An Officer and a Gentleman, Everyone’s All-American and Against All Odds.  We look forward to another year of honoring the best in the Sound Mixing field at this year’s Award,” said CAS president Edward L. Moskowitz.

Hackford, president of the Directors Guild of America, has helmed such iconic feature films as Ray, which was nominated for six Academy Awards including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor and Best Sound Mixing, An Officer and a Gentleman, Against All Odds and The Devil’s Advocate. Ray won Oscars for lead actor Jamie Foxx and the Sound Mixing team of Scott Millan CAS, Greg Orloff CAS, Bob Beemer CAS and Steven Cantamessa. Ray was also nominated for a CAS Award.  Hackford won his Oscar in 1979 for his Live Action Short Film, Teenage Father.

Hackford is also the director/producer behind the cult thriller Delores Claiborne, and the films White Nights,  and Proof of Life. In addition, he developed and produced La Bamba, the most successful Latin-themed feature film in history.

His feature documentary work is equally acclaimed, with Chuck Berry: Hail! Hail! Hail! Rock n Rolland the Oscar winning When We Were Kings, a behind-the-scenes look at the legendary 1974 bout between Muhammad Ali and George Foreman, dubbed “The Rumble in the Jungle.”

Hackford is the sixth recipient of the CAS Filmmaker Award; past honorees have included Quentin Tarantino, Gil Cates, Bill Condon, Paul Mazursky and Henry Selick.

Previously announced honoree, production sound mixer, Jeffrey S. Wexler, CAS will receive the Cinema Audio Society’s highest accolade, the CAS Career Achievement Award.  Wexler will be the 29th CAS Career Achievement Award Honoree. Past honorees include Ray Dolby, Robert Altman, Jack Solomon, John Bonner, Bill Varney, Don Rogers, Walter Murch, Jim Webb, Richard Portman, Tomlinson Holman, Mike Minkler, Ed Greene, Dennis Sands, Dennis L. Maitland, Sr. and Randy Thom, CAS.

Jeff Wexler
Jeff Wexler

KTLA entertainment reporter Sam Rubin will be returning as master of ceremonies at the 47th CAS Awards dinner which will also honor Outstanding Achievements in Sound Mixing in five categories; Motion Pictures; Television Movies and Mini-Series; Television Series; Television-Non-Fiction, Variety or Music Series or Specials and DVD Original Programming.

The Cinema Audio Society, a philanthropic, non-profit organization, was formed in 1964 for the purpose of sharing information with sound professionals in the motion picture and television industry.

On the evening of the Awards the Cinema Audio Society website will be updated in real time as the winners are announced.

- Advertisment -


SISU Cinema Robotics Announces SISU Battery Box for Robotic Camera Equipment

SISU Cinema Robotics has been transforming the landscape of robotic camera equipment by introducing user-friendly cinema technology designed to keep pace with the demands...

Beowulf and 3-D