Friday, July 12, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsCDG Announces Awards Nominees

CDG Announces Awards Nominees


The Costume Designers Guild announced nominees for its 13th Annual Awards ceremony, which will be held Feb. 22 at The Beverly Hilton. The event will be hosted by film and television actress Kristin Davis.

The Guild will be honoring Halle Berry, Academy Award-winning actress and Golden Globe nominee for Frankie and Alice, with the Lacoste Spotlight Award. The award honors an actor whose talent and career personifies an enduring commitment to excellence, including a special awareness of the role and importance of costume design.

Two-time Oscar nominee and multiple Emmy winning costume designer Julie Weiss will be honored with this year’s Disaronno Career Achievement in Film and Television Award. A montage highlighting her extraordinary career will be introduced by designer favorites Ashton Kutcher and Demi Moore, and the award will be presented by Robert Duvall. Weiss’ career is expansive, having received 17 major award nominations for her work, and is best known for her work on Blades of Glory (2007) and American Beauty (1999) for which she has previously received two competitive Costume Designers Guild Awards.

The Distinguished Collaborator Award will be presented to famed director, Joel Schumacher. This year’s honor is particularly meaningful to the Guild as Schumacher started out his career as a costume designer.

Beloved costume designer Michael Dennison will be inducted posthumously into the Guild’s Hall of Fame for his work on television and feature films such as Eat Pray Love (2010) and Georgia O’Keefe (2009).

The nominees for the 13th Annual Costume Designers Guild Awards are:

Excellence in Contemporary Film:
Black Swan, Amy Westcott
Burlesque , Michael Kaplan
Inception , Jeffrey Kurland
The Social Network, Jacqueline West
Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps, Ellen Mirojnick

Excellence in Period Film:
The Fighter, Mark Bridges
The King’s Speech, Jenny Beavan
True Grit, Mary Zophres

Excellence in Fantasy Film:
Alice in Wonderland, Colleen Atwood
The Tempest, Sandy Powell
TRON: Legacy, Michael Wilkinson and Christine Bieselin Clark

Outstanding Made for Television Movie or Miniseries:
Big Love, Chrisi Karvonides-Dushenko
Dancing with the Stars, Randall Christensen, Daniella Gschwendtner, Steven Norman Lee
Glee, Lou Eyrich
Modern Family, Alix Friedberg
Treme, Alonzo Wilson

Outstanding Contemporary Television Series:
Boardwalk Empire, John A. Dunn, Lisa Padovani
Mad Men, Janie Bryant
The Tudors, Joan Bergin

Outstanding Period/Fantasy Television Series:
The Pacific, Penny Rose
Temple Grandin, Cindy Evans
You Don’t Know Jack, Rita Ryack

Excellence in Commercial Costume Design:
“Chanel – Bleu de Chanel,” Aude Bronson-Howard
“Dior – Charlize Theron – J’Adore,” Lisa Michelle Boyd
“Dos Equis – The Most Interesting Man in the World,” Julie Vogel
“Netflix – Western,” Lydia Paddon
“Target – Preparing for Race/Black Friday,” Michelle Martini

- Advertisment -


Beau Borders

Contender Profile: The Greyhound Sound Team on Creating Authentic 1940s Sounds...

“And the Oscar goes to,” is a familiar phrase we anticipate hearing each year in the 93-year history of the Academy Awards. This year,...