Wednesday, February 21, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeCraftsArt DirectionTony Walton to Receive ADG Lifetime Achievement Award

Tony Walton to Receive ADG Lifetime Achievement Award


Tony Walton
Academy Award-winning art director and set designer Tony Walton will be presented with a lifetime achievement award at the Art Directors Guild’s 16th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards, Feb. 4, 2012.

Walton began his career in 1957, since then he has designed numerous films, broadway productions and television classics.

“Tony Walton has had a diverse and prolific film career evidenced by his imaginative concept and costume designs for Mary Poppins, or his valentine to 30s’ movie musicals in The Boy Friend, or his stylistic and Emmy-winning recreation of Arthur Miller’s Death of a Salesman,” said Thomas Walsh, ADG president.

Walton’s career encompasses designing sets, costumes and graphics for the theater, opera, ballet, film, television and publishing. He also is a talented and accomplished producer and director.

With more than three decades of experience in film design, Walton has collaborated with some of the best creative minds in the film industry and has worked on many timeless productions such as Petulia (1968), Mary Poppins (1964) and The Wiz (1979), which the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences recognized with a nomination for costume design and art direction. He has also been recognized with nominations from the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences and the British Academy Film Awards for costume and set design for Murder on the Orient Express in 1975.

“Tony is among a select few who have originated designs in the theater and then translated those same designs into a work of film,” Walsh added. “He brings a sense of whimsy and joy to everything he undertakes. Walton is the consummate designer who has extended the boundaries for all things possible for those engaged in the profession of narrative design for the moving image.”

Previous recipients of ADG lifetime achievement awards include production designers Ken Adam and Robert Boyle, Albert Brenner, Henry Bumstead, Roy Christopher, Stuart Craig, Bill Creber, John Mansbridge, Terence Marsh, Harold Michelson, Jan Scott, Paul Sylbert and Dean Tavoularis.

Nominations for the ADG Awards will be announced on Jan. 4, 2012. On awards night, Feb. 4, the ADG will present winners in nine competitive categories for theatrical films, television productions, commercials and music videos. Outstanding contribution to cinematic imagery and three honorary awards will also be presented. For the third consecutive year Paula Poundstone will host the show, which will celebrate the 75th anniversary of the guild.

- Advertisment -


IATSE Remembers Crew Member J.C. “Spike” Osorio

  J.C. "Spike" Osorio tragically passed away last week. The rigging technician, whose full name was Juan “Spike” Wu Osorio, fell from a rafter. We...