Friday, June 14, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsWGA-West TV Writer Access Project Honorees

WGA-West TV Writer Access Project Honorees


WGAW.logoThe Writers Guild of America West has announced its TV Writer Access Project Honorees for 2019. Twenty-one Diverse writers, whose work has been cited by  committee of high-level writers and showrunners, in the script categories of Comedy (Half-Hour) and Drama (One-Hour). The WGAW’s decade-long TV WAP program is part of the Guild’s ongoing efforts to increase diversity and promote inclusiveness in the entertainment industry.

WPA Honoree Brent Piaskoski, Humor Me
TV WAP Honoree Brent Piaskoski, Humor Me

This year’s 21 TV WAP honorees include eleven writers in the women’s category (including one writing team), four LGBTQ+ writers (including one writing team), two minority writers, two writers with disabilities, and two writers age 55 and older.

TV WAP Honoree Anya Lets, Points of Origin
TV WAP Honoree Anya Lets, Points of Origin

The honorees will have their work spotlighted industry-wide via the Guild, as well as participate in a series of WGAW-hosted workshops in March designed to equip them with the skills sets and the necessary tools to develop and sustain successful television writing careers.

And the honorees are:

Drama Honorees:
Sabrina Almeida, Die Spinne (The Spider)
Allen Clary, Orchard Drive
Anya Leta, Points of Origin
Lisa Long, Cimarron County
D.H. Miller, Freshwater
John-Paul Nickel, Metro
Adam Rodman, Promises To Keep
Deanna Shumaker, Long Lost
Matthew White, Echo
Jai Tiggett, Black Magic

Comedy Honorees:
Cindy Appel, Ride or Die
Chelsea Catalanotto, Colonize This
Elise D’Haene, Old Dykes
Anne Gregory, Fucked
Chase Heinrich & Micah Steinberg, Grindrs Keepers
Lena Kouyoumdjian, Party Girls
Brent Piaskoski, Humor Me…It’s Time For Your Next Act
Rachel Palmer & David Shecter, For Worse
Kate Spurgeon, Rx

For more information about this year’s TV WAP honorees, please visit

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D