Thursday, June 13, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsWinners Announced for Academy Nicholl Fellowships

Winners Announced for Academy Nicholl Fellowships


From left: Allan Durand, writer of Willie Francis Must Die Again; Sean Robert Daniels, writer of Killers; Nikole Beckwith, writer of Stockholm, Pennsylvania; Michael Werwie, writer of Extremely Wicked, Shockingly Evil, and Vile, and James DiLapo, writer of Devils at Play.
Five writers have been selected as winners of the 2012 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition. Each writer received a $35,000 prize, the first installment of which was distributed at a gala dinner in Beverly Hills on Nov. 8.

This year’s winners were (listed alphabetically by author):

Nikole Beckwith, Brooklyn, N.Y., Stockholm, Pennsylvania

Sean Robert Daniels, Laezonia, Gauteng, South Africa, Killers

James DiLapo, New York, N.Y., Devils at Play

Allan Durand, Lafayette, La., Willie Francis Must Die Again

Michael Werwie, Los Angeles, Calif., Extremely Wicked, Shockingly Evil, and Vile

The winners for this year’s competition were selected from an all-time high of 7,197 scripts submitted. This is the first time entries from Louisiana and South Africa have been selected as winners.

Fellowships are awarded with the understanding that the recipients will each complete a feature-length screenplay during their fellowship year. The Academy acquires no rights to the works of Nicholl fellows and does not involve itself commercially in any way with their completed scripts.

The Academy Nicholl Fellowships Committee is chaired by producer Gale Anne Hurd and includes writers Naomi Foner, Daniel Petrie, Jr., Tom Rickman and Dana Stevens; actor Eva Marie Saint; cinematographers John Bailey and Steven B. Poster; costume designer Vicki Sanchez; executive Bill Mechanic; producers Peter Samuelson and Robert W. Shapiro; marketing executive Buffy Shutt, and agent Ronald R. Mardigian.

Since the program’s inception in 1985, 123 fellowships have been awarded. Among the recent achievements by Nicholl fellows, Jacob Aaron Estes wrote and directed The Details, which premiered theatrically on Nov. 2. Andrew Marlowe created and executive produces the ABC series Castle; and Rebecca Sonnenshine serves as executive story editor on the CW series, The Vampire Diaries.

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D