Sunday, April 14, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsWoody Allen to Receive Cecil B. DeMille Award

Woody Allen to Receive Cecil B. DeMille Award


LR-Woody Headshot-email

Woody Allen
Woody Allen

Woody Allen will be honored with the 2014 Cecil B. DeMille Award at the 71st Annual Golden Globe Awards, Jan. 12.

“There is no one more worthy of this award than Woody Allen,” said Theo Kingma, president of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA). “His contributions to filmmaking have been phenomenal and he truly is an international treasure.”

Chosen by the HFPA board of directors, the Cecil B. DeMille Award is given annually to the talented individuals who have impacted the world of entertainment. Recent recipients include Jody Foster (2013), Morgan Freeman, (2012), Robert De Niro (2011), Martin Scorsese (2010), Steven Spielberg (2009), Warren Beatty (2007), Anthony Hopkins (2006), Robin Williams (2005), Michael Douglas (2004), Gene Hackman (2003), Harrison Ford (2002), Al Pacino (2001) and Barbra Streisand (2000).

Woody Allen is the writer/director of more than 45 films including such works as Annie Hall, Manhattan, The Purple Rose of Cairo, and Hannah and Her Sisters, as well as recent hits such as Match Point, Vicky Cristina Barcelona and Midnight in Paris for which he won both the 2012 Golden Globe for best screenplay – motion picture and the Academy Award for best original screenplay. Allen’s most recent film, Blue Jasmine, is currently in theaters.

- Advertisment -


Brad Allan

Over the Weekend 8/9/21: Night Court‘s Markie Post Dies, The Suicide...

Unfortunately, this past weekend was one full of sadness as a number of prominent and beloved people from across our industry passed away. First up, Markie...

Beowulf and 3-D