Monday, July 22, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeIndustry SectorFilmAcademy Elects Four First-Time Governors, Returns Seven Incumbents

Academy Elects Four First-Time Governors, Returns Seven Incumbents


Cinematographer Richard P. Crudo, producer Gale Anne Hurd, composer David Newman and film editor Michael Tronick make up this year’s first-time electees to Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Board of Governors. In addition, seven incumbents were reelected and three other motion picture professionals will return to the Board after a time away.

The reelected governors are Craig Barron, visual effects; Annette Bening, actors; Don Hall, sound; Jeffrey Kurland, art directors; John Lasseter, short films and feature animation; Robert Rehme, executives; and Phil Robinson, writers.

Returning to the board after a hiatus are Michael Apted, documentary; Cheryl Boone Isaacs, public relations; and Paul Mazursky, directors. Apted previously served from 2002 to 2009. Isaacs served from 1988 to 1997 and again from 2000 to 2009. Mazursky was on the board from 1997 to 2000 and again from 2006 to 2009.

Fourteen of the Academy’s 15 branches are represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or reelects one governor each year. The makeup artists and hairstylists branch is represented by a single governor.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the board are Ed Begley, Jr. and Tom Hanks, actors branch; Jim Bissell and Rosemary Brandenburg, art directors; John Bailey and Caleb Deschanel, cinematographers; Kathryn Bigelow and Edward Zwick, directors; Rob Epstein and Michael Moore, documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Tom Sherak, executives; Anne V. Coates and Mark Goldblatt, film editors; Leonard Engelman, makeup artists and hairstylists; Bruce Broughton and Charles Fox, music; Mark Johnson and Hawk Koch, producers; Rob Friedman and Marvin Levy, public relations; Jon Bloom and Bill Kroyer, short films and feature animation; Curt Behlmer and Kevin O’Connell, sound; Richard Edlund and Bill Taylor, visual effects; and James L. Brooks and Frank Pierson, writers.

- Advertisment -


Beastie Boys

EMMY WATCH 2020: The Sound for the Beastie Boys Story Doc

The original experimental punk, hip hop, rap rock, alternative band of best friends Adam “MCA” Yauch, Michael “Mike D” Diamond, and Adam “Ad-Rock” Horovitz, better...