Friday, June 14, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeIndustry SectorFilmCheryl Boone Isaacs Elected Academy President

Cheryl Boone Isaacs Elected Academy President


LR-Cheryl Boone Isaacs-email

Cheryl Boone Isaacs
Cheryl Boone Isaacs
Cheryl Boone Isaacs was elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences July 30 by the organization’s board of governors. Boone Isaacs, who is beginning her 21st year as a governor representing the public relations branch, served as Academy first vice president during the past year. She also produced the 2012 Governors Awards. Boone Isaacs succeeds Hawk Koch, who served a one-year term as president.

In addition, John Lasseter was elected first vice president, Jeffrey Kurland and Leonard Engelman were elected to vice president posts, Dick Cook was elected treasurer, and Phil Robinson was elected secretary.

These will be the first officer stints for Engelman, Kurland and Cook. Lasseter previously served one-year terms as treasurer and secretary. Robinson served as vice president during the past year, his fourth consecutive term in that office.

Boone Isaacs currently heads CBI Enterprises, where she has consulted on films, including The Call, The Artist, The King’s Speech, Precious, Spider-Man 2 and Tupac: Resurrection. Boone Isaacs previously served as president of theatrical marketing for New Line Cinema, where she oversaw numerous films, including Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me and Rush Hour. Prior to joining New Line in 1997, Boone Isaacs was executive vice president of worldwide publicity for Paramount Pictures, where she orchestrated publicity campaigns for the best picture winners Forrest Gump and Braveheart.

Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D