Friday, June 14, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsThe Full List of Winners from the 23rd Annual Costume Designers Guild...

The Full List of Winners from the 23rd Annual Costume Designers Guild Awards (CDGA)


Costume Designers Guild

On Tuesday, April 13 at 5:30pm PST, the Costume Designers Guild (CDG, IATSE Local 892) announced the winners for its 23rd Annual Costume Designers Guild Awards (CDGA) on the guild’s Twitter page, hosted by Lana Condor (To All the Boys I Loved Before).

The main film awards went to Bina Daigeler for Mulan (Sci-Fi/, Nancy Steiner for Promising Young Woman, and Ann Roth for Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom. Roth also won the Costume Design award at the BAFTAs over the weekend, putting her in a good place for the Academy Awards on April 25th. She previous won the Oscar for The English Patient in 1997 and has been nominated five times total.

HBOs WestworldSchitt’s Creek and the Netflix limited series, The Queen’s Gambit, continued their winning ways as Shay CunliffeDebra Hanson and Gabriele Binder, respectively, were awarded by the Costume Designers Guild for their work on those television series.

A special Distinguished Collaborators award was presented to Shondaland  Producer/Writer Shonda Rhymes and Producer Betsy Beers for their collaboration with costume designers in the art of storytelling on their numerous series. The award was presented by Nicola Coughlan from Shondaland’s latest Netflix hit,  Bridgerton.

The complete list of CDGA winners is below:

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film (presented by Regina King)
Mulan – Bina Daigeler 

Excellence in Contemporary Film (presented by Amanda Seyfried)
Promising Young Woman – Nancy Steiner

Excellence in Period Film  (presented by Carey Mulligan and filmmaker Emerald Fennell)
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Ann Roth

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television (presented by Rose Byrne)
Westworld: “Parce Domine” – Shay Cunliffe

Excellence in Contemporary Television (presented by Ilana Glazer)
Schitt’s Creek: “Happy Ending” – Debra Hanson

Excellence in Period Television (presented by Leslie OdomJr.)
The Queen’s Gambit: “End Game” – Gabriele Binder

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television (presented by Andra Day)
Hamilton – Paul Tazewell

Excellence in Short Form Design (presented by O-T Fagbenle)
Apple: Shot on iPhone by Damien Chazelle – Vertical Cinema “The Stunt Double” short film – April Napier

Edward Douglas
Edward Douglas
Edward Douglas has written about movies for print and the internet for over 20 years, specializing in box office analysis, reviews, and interviews. Currently, he writes features for Below the Line and Above the Line, acting as Associate Editor for the former and Interim Editor for the latter.
- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D