Tuesday, June 25, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeCommunityThe Academy Elects 2014–15 Board of Governors

The Academy Elects 2014–15 Board of Governors


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the election of five first-time governors to its board of governors. In addition, eight incumbents have been re-elected and four previous governors are returning to the board.

The first-time governors are Kate Amend, documentary branch; Daniel Fellman, executives branch; Albert Berger, producers branch; Bob Rogers, short films and feature animation branch, and Mark Mangini, sound branch.

The reelected governors are Annette Bening, actors branch; Lora Kennedy, casting directors branch; Jeffrey Kurland, costume designers branch; Rick Carter, designers branch; Michael Tronick, film editors branch; Kathryn Blondell, makeup artists and hairstylists branch; Cheryl Boone Isaacs, public relations branch, and Phil Robinson, writers branch.

Returning to the board after a hiatus are governors Caleb Deschanel, cinematographers branch; Edward Zwick, directors branch; Charles Bernstein, music branch, and Bill Taylor, visual effects branch.

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D