Thursday, June 13, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwards2014 Student Academy Awards Finalists Announced

2014 Student Academy Awards Finalists Announced


Forty-one students from 23 U.S. colleges and universities as well as 10 students from foreign universities have been selected as finalists in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 41st Student Academy Awards competition.

To reach this stage, U.S. students competed in one of three regional competitions. Each region is permitted to send to the Academy up to three finalists in each of the four categories. The Student Academy Awards nominating committee screened and voted on the finalists in the foreign film category.

Academy members will now vote to determine up to three winning films in each category. The winners, but not their medal placements, will be announced later this month. The winning students will be brought to Los Angeles for a week of industry activities and social events that will culminate in the awards ceremony on June 7, at 6 p.m., at the DGA Theater in Hollywood, at which time the gold, silver and bronze medalists will be revealed.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. They include John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Trey Parker and Spike Lee.

The finalists are (listed alphabetically by film title):


Joseph Dwyer, Boston University

Entropic Apogee
Bill Manolios, Art Institute of California – San Francisco

Jaspa’ Jenkins
Robert Carnilius, Columbia College Chicago

Daniel Sierra, School of Visual Arts, New York

Passer Passer
Louis Morton, University of Southern California

Drew Brown and Ramona Ramdeen, The Art Institute of Jacksonville, Florida

The Private Life of Fenfen
Leslie Tai, Stanford University

Steinar Bergoy Nedrebo, School of Visual Arts, New York


Ty Coyle, Savannah College of Art and Design, Georgia

Goodnight Boon
Jeremy Jensen, New York University

Higher Sky
Teng Cheng, University of Southern California

Eric Cunha and Seung Sung, School of Visual Arts, New York

Daniel Clark and Wesley Tippetts, Brigham Young University, Utah

Animation continued

Roadkill Redemption
Karl Hadrika, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida

Two Ghosts
Amy Lee Ketchum, University of Southern California

Pedro Jesus Atienzar Godoy, Pratt Institute, New York

Hayley Foster, Loyola Marymount University, California


The Apothecary
Helen Hood Scheer, Stanford University

Ryan Metzler and Scott Kulicke, Occidental College, California

Thomas Smith and McKenna Hinkle, Villanova University, Pennsylvania

Light Mind
Jie Yi, School of Visual Arts, New York

My Sister Sarah
Elizabeth Chatelain, University of Texas at Austin

One Child
Zijian Mu, New York University

Punches & Pedicures
Ashley Brandon and Dennis Höhne, Wright State University, Ohio

Lindsay Lindenbaum, School of Visual Arts, New York

White Earth
J. Christian Jensen, Stanford University


James Roe, University of New Orleans

Above the Sea
Keola Racela, Columbia University, New York

Door God
Yulin Liu, New York University

Camille Stochitch, American Film Institute, California

Istifa (Resignation)
Rahat Mahajan, Art Center College of Design, California

So You’ve Grown Attached
Kate Tsang, New York University

Mark Tumas, Temple University, Pennsylvania

Way in Rye
Goran Stankovic, American Film Institute, California

What Remains
Julie Koegl, University of North Carolina School of the Arts

Foreign Film

Border Patrol
Peter Baumann, The Northern Film School, United Kingdom

Geun Buem Park, Korean Academy of Film Arts, South Korea

Katarina Morano, University of Ljubljana – Academy of Theatre, Radio, Film and Television, Slovenia

Lennart Ruff, University of Television and Film Munich, Germany

Philip Sheerin, National Film and Television School, United Kingdom

Paris on the Water
Hadas Ayalon, Tel Aviv University, Israel

Sacred Defense
Nima Mohaghegh, Netherlands Film Academy

Souffle Court
Johann Dulat, ENS Louis-Lumière – The National Film, Photography & Sound Engineering School, France

The Oasis
Carl Marott, The National Film School of Denmark

Wo Wir Sind
Ilker Çatak, Hamburg Media School, Germany

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D