Wednesday, July 17, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsAcademy Elects 2012-2013 Board of Governors

Academy Elects 2012-2013 Board of Governors


Six first-time governors have been elected to the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences: Dante Spinotti, representing the cinematographers branch; Lisa Cholodenko, directors branch; Dick Cook, executives; John Knoll, visual effects; Scott Millan, sound and Bill Condon, writers. In addition, seven incumbents were reelected and three other motion picture professionals will return to the board after time away.

Returning to the board after hiatus are Michael Mann, directors; Arthur Hamilton, music, and Kathleen Kennedy, producers. Mann previously served from 2000 to 2006. Hamilton most recently served from 2008 to 2011, he has served a total of 33 years. Kennedy was on the board from 1994 to 1997 and again from 2002 to 2011.

The reelected governors are Tom Hanks, actors; Jim Bissell, designers; Rob Epstein, documentary; Mark Goldblatt, film editors; Leonard Engelman, makeup and hairstylists; Rob Friedman, public relations and Bill Kroyer; short films & feature animation.

Fourteen of the Academy’s 15 branches are represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or reelects one governor each year. The makeup artists and hairstylists branch are represented by a single governor.

At the end of 2011, directors branch governor Paul Mazursky stepped down from his seat on the board.  Lisa Cholodenko was elected to complete the two years remaining on Mazursky’s term and Mann was elected to a new three-year term.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the board are Ed Begley, Jr. and Annette Bening, actors branch; John Bailey and Richard Crudo, cinematographers; Rosemary Brandenburg and Jeffrey Kurland, designers; Kathryn Bigelow, directors; Michael Apted and Michael Moore, documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Robert Rehme, executives; Anne V. Coates and Michael Tronick, film editors; Charles Fox and David L. Newman, music; Gale Anne Hurd and Hawk Koch, producers; Cheryl Boone Isaacs and Marvin Levy, public relations; Jon Bloom and John Lasseter, short films and feature animation; Curt Behlmer and Don Hall, sound; Craig Barron and Richard Edlund, visual effects; and Frank Pierson and Phil Robinson, writers.

- Advertisment -


Beau Borders

Contender Profile: The Greyhound Sound Team on Creating Authentic 1940s Sounds...

“And the Oscar goes to,” is a familiar phrase we anticipate hearing each year in the 93-year history of the Academy Awards. This year,...