Wednesday, April 17, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsACE to Honor Frank Marshall with the Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the...

ACE to Honor Frank Marshall with the Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year Award


LR-Frank Marshall-email

Frank Marshall
Frank Marshall

The American Cinema Editors (ACE) announced that it will honor prolific filmmaker Frank Marshall with the organization’s ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year Award. The award will be presented at the 65th Annual ACE Eddie Awards, Jan. 30, in the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

“Frank Marshall has helped shape American film, treating audiences to some of the most well-loved, successful and enduring films in cinematic history,” said the ACE board of directors in a release. “From Raiders of the Lost Ark, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, The Sixth Sense and the Back to the Future trilogy, among so many others, Mr. Marshall has made – and continues to make – a profound and indelible contribution to the cinematic landscape. We are honored to recognize him for his extraordinary accomplishments.”

Starting as a location manager on Peter Bogdanovich‘s The Last Picture Show, by 1981 Marshall was working as a producer on Raiders of the Lost Ark with Steven Spielberg and future wife Kathleen Kennedy. Shortly thereafter, the trio formed industry powerhouse Amblin Entertainment, and together produced movies such as Gremlins, the Back to the Future trilogy, Who Framed Roger Rabbit?, Hook, Empire of the Sun and the Indiana Jones trilogy.

In 1991, Marshall and Kennedy left Amblin to form their own production company, The Kennedy/Marshall Company, where they produced The Sixth Sense, Signs, Seabiscuit, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, War Horse and all four films in the Bourne series. In 2012, Marshall took over as sole principal of the company when Kennedy became chairman of Lucasfilm. Currently, he is producing Jurassic World, which opens on June 12.

Marshall has five Academy Award nominations for best picture, including Raiders of the Lost Ark, The Color Purple, The Sixth Sense, Seabiscuit and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.

In addition Marshall has directed Arachnophobia, Eight Below, Alive, Congo, an episode from the HBO miniseries From the Earth to the Moon, and the ESPN documentary Right to Play.

Past ACE Golden Eddie honorees include Steven Spielberg, Quentin Tarantino, Norman Jewison, Alexander Payne, James Cameron, Clint Eastwood, George Lucas, Francis Ford Coppola, Christopher Nolan, Martin Scorsese, Saul Zaentz, Paul Greengrass and Stanley Donen.

The ACE Eddie Awards recognize outstanding editing in 10 categories of film, television and documentaries. Nominees for the 65th Annual ACE Eddie Awards were announced on Jan. 2.

- Advertisment -


Beowulf and 3-D

By Henry Turner Beowulf in 3D is a unique experience, raising not just questions about future of cinema, but also posing unique problems that the...