Wednesday, July 17, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsElvis DP Mandy Walker Becomes First Woman to Win American Society of...

Elvis DP Mandy Walker Becomes First Woman to Win American Society of Cinematographers’s Top Prize for Feature Film


The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) presented its annual awards this evening with Mandy Walker, ASC, ACS earning the feature film award for Elvis. Walker is the first woman to win an ASC Award in the feature film category with her first nomination.

Last year’s ASC feature film winner was Greig Fraser, ASC, who went on to win the Oscar® for Best Achievement in Cinematography for Dune.

The 37th ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards, held at the Beverly Hilton, also celebrated Sturla Brandth Grøvlen, DFF for War Sailor in the Spotlight Award category and Ben Bernhard and Riju Das for the documentary, All That Breathes. Winners in the television categories included M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel; Sean Porter for The Old Man; Jules O’Loughlin, ASC, ACS for The Old Man; and Carl Herse for Barry.

Mullen is the only winner who has been previously nominated for an ASC Award. This was his fourth nomination for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, and his first win.

Honorary awards at the ceremony included Viola Davis receiving the ASC Board of Governors Award (presented by Gina Prince-Bythewood) and Stephen Goldblatt, ASC, BSC was bestowed the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award (presented by Octavia Spencer).

Darius Khondji, ASC, AFC was given the ASC International Award (presented by Alejandro G. Iñárritu), and Fred Murphy, ASC was honored with the ASC Career Achievement in Television Award (presented by Jake Gyllenhaal). Charlie Lieberman, ASC received the Presidents Award (presented by John Simmons, ASC) and Sam Nicholson, ASC took home the Curtis Clark ASC Technical Achievement Award (presented by Stephen Lighthill and sponsored by Unreal Engine). The Bud Stone Award was given to FotoKem’s Mike Broderson and Mark Van Horne (presented by Richard Crudo, ASC).

Below is the complete list of winners and nominees:

THEATRICAL FEATURE FILM (presented by Hong Chau)

Mandy Walker, ASC, ACS for Elvis (Warner Bros.) WINNER

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Empire of Light (Searchlight Pictures)
Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS for The Batman (Warner Bros.)
Darius Khondji, ASC, AFC for Bardo, False Chronicle of a Handful of Truths (Netflix)
Claudio Miranda, ASC for Top Gun: Maverick (Paramount Pictures)

(Category sponsored by Keslow Camera)

SPOTLIGHT AWARD (presented by Lawrence Sher, ASC)

Sturla Brandth Grøvlen, DFF for War Sailor (DCM Film) WINNER

Kate McCullough, ISC for The Quiet Girl (Super)
Andrew Wheeler for God’s Country (IFC Films)

(Category sponsored by Panavision)


M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – “How Do You Get to Carnegie Hall?” (Prime Video) WINNER

John Conroy, ASC, ISC for Westworld – “Années Folles” (HBO/HBO MAX)
Catherine Goldschmidt for House of the Dragon – “The Lord of the Tides” (HBO/HBO MAX)
Alejandro Martinez for House of the Dragon – “The Green Council” (HBO/HBO MAX)
Alex Nepomniaschy, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – “Everything is Bellmore” (Prime Video)
Nikolaus Summerer for 1899 – “The Calling” (Netflix)

(Category sponsored by Panavision)


Sean Porter for The Old Man – “I” (FX) WINNER

Todd Banhazl, ASC for Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty – “The Swan” (HBO/HBO Max)
Jeremy Benning, CSC for Guillermo del Toro’s Cabinet of Curiosities – “The Outside” (Netflix)
Anastas Michos, ASC, GSC for Guillermo del Toro’s Cabinet of Curiosities – “The Autopsy” (Netflix)
C. Kim Miles, ASC, CSC, MySC for Lost Ollie – “Bali Hai” (Netflix)

(Category sponsored by Arri)

EPISODE OF A HALF-HOUR SERIES (presented by Roselyn Sánchez and Harry Shum Jr.)

Carl Herse for Barry – “Starting Now” (HBO/HBO MAX) WINNER

Adam Bricker for Hacks – “The Click” (HBO/HBO MAX)
Stephen Murphy BSC, ISC for Atlanta – “New Jazz” (FX)
Ula Pontikos, BSC for Russian Doll – “Matryoshka” (Netflix)
Christian Sprenger, ASC for Atlanta – “Andrew Wyeth. Alfred’s World.” (FX)

(Category sponsored by Picture Shop)


Jules O’Loughlin, ASC, ACS for The Old Man – “IV” (FX) WINNER

Marshall Adams, ASC for Better Call Saul – “Saul Gone” (AMC)
Jesse M. Feldman for Anne Rice’s Interview with the Vampire ­– “Is My Very Nature That of the Devil” (AMC)
Christian “Tico” Herrera, CCR for Snowfall – “Departures” (FX)
Jaime Reynoso, AMC for Snowpiercer – “Bound by One Track” (TNT)

(Category sponsored by William F. White)

DOCUMENTARY AWARD (presented by S.S. Rajamouli & M.M. Keeravani)

Ben Bernhard and Riju Das for All That Breathes (HBO/HBO Max) WINNER

Adam Bricker for Chef’s Table: Pizza ­– “Franco Pepe” (Netflix)
Wolfgang Held, ASC for This Stolen Country of Mine

(Category sponsored by Creamsource)

For more information regarding the ASC Awards, visit the ASC website.

- Advertisment -


Beau Borders

Contender Profile: The Greyhound Sound Team on Creating Authentic 1940s Sounds...

“And the Oscar goes to,” is a familiar phrase we anticipate hearing each year in the 93-year history of the Academy Awards. This year,...