Wednesday, November 29, 2023
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsASC Names Finalists for 2015 Student Heritage Award

ASC Names Finalists for 2015 Student Heritage Award


The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has announced the nominees for the 2015 ASC Gordon Willis Student Heritage Awards.

A blue-ribbon panel of ASC members judged the entries and selected 13 students from a talented pool of filmmakers. The students represent 11 different U.S. film schools. Winners will be revealed on Sept. 26.

The finalists are:


  • Nicolas Aguilar Ketchum of Chapman University for Run
  • Garrett Nicholson of Ithaca College for Nightfire
  • Sten Olson of Chapman University for Darkstar
  • Casey Schendel of Cal State University Northridge (CSUN) for The Death Of Colm Canter
  • Oren Soffer of New York University for Reservations
  • West Webb from the University of North Carolina School of the Arts for No Tip


  • Justin Alpern of Chapman University for Straw Dolls
  • Paul Cannon of the University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) for Awake
  • John Wakayanna Carey of Columbia University School of the Arts for Two Sisters
  • Steven Holloway of American University for The Defeat x3
  • Nico Navia from the American Film Institute (AFI) for Against Night
  • Justin Perkinson of UCLA for Random Stop

In the documentary category, the judges nominated only one finalist, making Rob Scribner of Full Sail the winner for Warbird Pilot: Behind The Visor.

The ASC Student Heritage Awards are renamed annually in memory of an extraordinary ASC member. This year it is dedicated to Gordon Willis, the cinematographer of The Godfather trilogy.

- Advertisment -


Support The Crew at This Weekend’s Popup Marketplace Extravaganza

Popup Marketplace Extravaganza is returning to New York City this weekend. The popup — organized by makeup artist Jojo McCarthy, event coordinator Audrey Cerrone,...