Monday, June 24, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsGuild of Television Cameramen Announces 2013 GTC Award Winners

Guild of Television Cameramen Announces 2013 GTC Award Winners


The Guild of Television Cameramen announced the winners of its 2013 awards during a presentation at the ‘A Day in the Country’ venue in Aynho, Oxfordshire, May 11.

The day included the GTC’s 41st annual general meeting. More than 60 members enjoyed a range of country pursuits including 4×4 driving, rage buggies, clay pigeon shooting and archery. Various camera-related equipment was brought along by sponsor companies for GTC members to try out.

The day culminated with the celebration of this year’s best camerawork as nominated by GTC members. Winners of GTC awards often emphasize how valued this accolade from their peers is. The awards were announced and presented by the current chair of the GTC, Keith Massey.

This year’s top award, the TiCA, went to Charles Lagus who was the BBC’s first natural history cameraman, working with Sir David Attenborough on the broadcaster’s initial nature series. “We simply disappeared for four to six months at a time, armed with nothing more than a couple of letters of introduction and our pockets stuffed with dollar bills,” Attenborough said. “It was just the two of us; we didn’t have a director until about 15 years later.”

The Mike Baldock Award was presented to camera operator and 3D stereographer Holly Bantleman for her work with Raise the Roof in Kenya. She juggles a career in the U.K. with running the Kenya based charity which she founded at age 24. The charity is supported by her employer, Telegenic, and many camera crew colleagues on location. It has already raised the roof on the Barut Youth Development and Sports Centre.

The GTC Seal of Approval for an innovative piece of equipment was awarded to the Sony HDVF-EL75 studio color viewfinder, praised for its contrast ratio of more than 1,000,000:1, efficient power consumption, wide viewing angle and extremely fast response time, meaning it is possible to focus on fast-moving targets with a color viewfinder.

The day culminated with the presentation of GTC Awards for Excellence. Winners this year are:

Fred Scott for Atma Refuge Camp, Syria (BBC News), BBC1.
Graham Maunder for Cold Chain Mission, BBC2.
Nat Hill for Coldplay MX World, BBC1.
Richard Cook and Christian and Paola Moullec for Earthflight, BBC HD.
Jonathan Young for Extreme World: Karachi, BBC1.
Tony Etwell for Grand Designs: The Water Tower, Channel 4.
Dave Minchin for Great Continental Rail Journeys, Boundless for BBC2.
Marcus Elliott for Heroes of the Skies: Wingwalker, Five.
Paul Kirsop and Balazs Bolygo for Hunted, Kudos for the BBC.
Jonathan Young for Indian Ocean with Simon Reeve, BBC 2.
The whole camera team for Later with Jools, BBC2 – a special award for continuing excellence.
Nigel and Peter Meakin for Michael Palin in Brazil, BBC2.
Fabian Wagner for Mrs Biggs (Episode 1), ITV 1.
Barrie Dodd and the whole camera team for Olympics Opening Ceremony, LOCOG for the BBC.
David Higgs for Restless, BBC1.
Marcel Zyskind for whole Crew Alastair Rae, Simon Tindall, Mark Silk, Jake Marcuson and Henry Landgrebe for Weightwatchers Commercial, Channel 4.

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D