Thursday, May 30, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsICG to Honor Cheryl Boone Isaacs and Bob Newhart at Annual Publicists...

ICG to Honor Cheryl Boone Isaacs and Bob Newhart at Annual Publicists Luncheon


Bob Newhart and Cheryl Boone Isaacs
Bob Newhart and Cheryl Boone Isaacs
The publicists of the International Cinematographers Guild (ICG, IATSE Local 600) have named Cheryl Boone Isaacs, president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, as recipient of the President’s Award, and comedian Bob Newhart recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, to be presented at the 52nd Annual Publicists Luncheon at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Feb. 20.

Isaacs will receive the award from Ava DuVernay, director of Paramount Pictures‘ current hit film Selma, nominated for best picture and best original song, just three days before the Oscars. Isaacs is the first African-American to serve as Academy president, the third woman (after Bette Davis and Fay Kanin) and the third member of the public relations branch to serve in that position. She has been on the AMPAS board for 21 years and is currently serving her second term as president. DuVernay is also a former publicist. They will be introduced by ICG national president Steven Poster, ASC.

“Cheryl represents the finest qualities of our profession,” said awards committee chairman Henri Bollinger. “She has an extraordinary track record as a marketing executive, while at the same time devoting her talents and influence to improving the public perception of all who contribute to the cinematic arts.”

Bob Newhart, the comedian known for his deadpan delivery and slight stammer, has been beloved since the ’60s when his album “The Button Down Mind of Bob Newhart” received the 1961 Grammy Award for album of the year. That same year he was offered his own television show, The Bob Newhart Show which lasted just one season but came back strongly in 1972, running until 1978. He also had numerous appearances on television shows such as The Dean Martin Show, The Ed Sullivan Show, The Tonight Show with Johnny Carson and many others. His Newhart TV series, in which he played a Vermont innkeeper, ran from 1982 to 1990. He won a Golden Globe for best TV star in 1962 and a Primetime Emmy as guest actor on the Big Bang Theory in 2013.

“We are delighted to honor two such extraordinary people,” said Poster. “Cheryl Boone Isaacs has carved her own path to success, and Bob Newhart has been part of all our lives for more than 50 years.”

Previous Lifetime Achievement recipients include Arnold Schwarzenegger, Clint Eastwood, Peter Bart, Robert Zemeckis, Julie Andrews, Army Archerd, Sylvester Stallone, Sid Ganis, Harrison Ford, Carol Burnett, Kirk Douglas and last year’s recipient, Jerry Lewis.

- Advertisment -


Joe B

Sound Editors Joe Beshenkovsky, Bobby Mackston, and Matt Temple on How...

George Carlin is one of the greatest stand-up comedians in American history, and thanks to co-directors Judd Apatow and Michael Bonfiglio, audiences get a revelatory...